We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Cozy and clean cabin in the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbrook Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golconda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willowbrook Cabins
Save
You added Willowbrook Cabins to your Saves list
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean cabin in the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the "Hiker" cabin. It was nice and clean with all the amenities of home. We enjoyed the private back deck overlooking the woods. Our cabin had our own fire pit where we enjoyed evening campfires. The only problem we had was that the beds were too soft for us and we had trouble sleeping. Otherwise, everything was wonderful. The cabins are centrally located to many good hiking areas. The Shawnee National Forest is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, ILlinois, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Willowbrook Cabins for our 15th Wedding Anniversary in an effort to unplug from the rest of the world. What a great experience all the way around. The owners of this property made every effort to help us with anything we needed and they've created a wonderful retreat. We loved how centrally located it was. We highly recommend staying at this property. You won't be sorry (unless you're looking for big-city options).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, Willowbrook is the CLEANEST I have found. Friendly hosts with great knowledge of the area. Great location for Shawnee National Forest. I would recommend these cabins to anyone who asked

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH3435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have visited the Shawnee National forest numerous times and Willowbrook Cabins is my only choice for lodging. I bring clients there for scenic photography tours and I want them to have top notch lodging. Willowbrook is very centralized to many of the attractions in the Shawnee, and with nice amenities like full functional kitchens, a washer and dryer, microwave, coffee pot, we cannot go wrong. Add the fact that your hosts are awesome inn keepers and your never look for another place the next time you visit Southern IL. or the Shawnee Forest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golconda
19.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Harrisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
24.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
24.7 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
267.6 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
267.3 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Cabins

Property: Willowbrook Cabins
Address: 610 Eddyville Blacktop Rd, Golconda, IL 62938-4117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Golconda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Golconda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large private cabins for the hiker, hunter and adventurer located in the heart of the Shawnee National Forest and Southern Illinois area. We are close to Garden of the Gods, Lusk Creek Wilderness, One Horse Gap, Rim Rock ,Golconda Marina and the Ohio River. The perfect lodging for a weekend getaway or an extended family retreat! Located close to many of the major attractions of the Shawnee National Forest and Southern Illinois area. We offer Satellite TV, FREE WIFI, Outdoor Grills, Fire Pit, Liens and even Cookware are all provided. If your a hiker, biker, horseman or hunter, Willowbrook Cabins is the perfect spot stay when visiting Southern Illinois. Open year around! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing