We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It came from the 80s” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Glenview
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Lenox IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It came from the 80s”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I expected to hear Flock of Seagulls or Duran Duran playing in the elevator. This place needs an update badly.

The dining options are not the best either. We did not get the chance to eat, not due to lack of hunger but lack of availability. The breakfast buffet and area closes promptly at 11am. We arrived at 1055a to find everything picked over and waiter who did not seemed interested in serving us. So off we went to the other restaurant that opens at 11am for lunch. And once again they really take the time seriously as it literally opened at 11am. Nothing was ready or would be ready for sometime so we left and went to Bob Chinn's instead (loved Bob Chinn's).

Overall it was clean,the staff pleasant, and the bed was comfortable. However in this price range and general location you have many other choices and I would seek those out. Several hotels we've had better experiences at are just down the street from this one. "and I ran, ran so far away....

Room Tip: If you do stay here try and get the side opposite of the interstate. It was pretty noisy at night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
On behalf of the staff of the Wyndham Glenview Suites, I would like to personally thank you for leaving a review of your stay. We appreciate any and all comments so that we can do whatever it takes to increase our guest satisfaction for all of our guests to make a better experience overall.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    382
    348
    217
    139
See reviews for
564
244
66
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Aweful.
Holes in the doors, popcorn ceiling, dirty toilet, dusty corners, PILE of dust behind the couch, horrible service, and outdated rooms.
There was a patched up incOmplete repair in the middle of our door from the "living room" to the bedroom.
The popcorn ceiling is right put of the 70's.
The toilet had a ring of yellow and brown around the inside of the bowl.
The corners around the carpet and bathroom were dust.
My sister moved the couch and found a pile of dust.
The TV was dusty.
We had a problem with our renting a movie through the tv service and after two calls ( one 12 rings and no answer) we were told it was down (but still being offered through the tv) and wouldn't be fixed until after our stay.
One of the servers was making fun of my sister in Spanish not knowing that she speaks fluently.
Just filthy and disgusting all around horrible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-03128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
On behalf of the staff of the Wyndham Glenview Suites, I would like to personally thank you for leaving a review of your stay. We appreciate any and all comments so that we can do whatever it takes to increase our guest satisfaction for all of our guests to make a better experience overall.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenview hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Staying here for business and while the rooms are huge, welcome to 1980. Overall cleanliness is above average and the beds are comfortable. In the heatwave we're having the AC works great. The rooms are suites and have a large sitting room with couch, desk, kitchenette with microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The bathrooms are old and you can see signs of them starting to crumble. There is a pool and nice atrium and I'm sure my kids would enjoy this place. There's room for 4 in a room with the pull out couch, and even a door between the sitting room and the bedroom for privacy. Overall just OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brewertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, October 26, 2015
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore for your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review to share your comments. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations during their stay and we use these reviews as a training tool so we can continue to make any necessary changes to please all of our guests. Each week I discuss all of the reviews with my executive teams to recognize the employees that stood out, and to discuss what we need to improve on to enhance the overall stay.
Please feel free to contact me if there is anything that I can do, and we look forward to seeing you again on any return visits to the area so you can see the changes that we have made in our service and property.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

You have read all the reviews and descriptions of this hotel and the physical descriptions are accurate and do help to make a pleasant stay. However, it has become a bit needy and should go through a thorough renovation.

In our case our complaints are simply the atrocious room cleaning service. Upon arrival, we saw that we had only 1 hanger in the closet. Not a big problem and we would let the front desk know about this when we went for dinner.
A very pleasant gentleman who listen ed to our problem apologized and indicated that a minimum of 5 hangers should be there. He asked us whether we wanted male hangers or female hangers or a combination of both--his words not mine. He explained that female hangers have skirt clamps where as the mens hangers do not. Okay, that settled he was going to give us 5 of each to make certain we were satisfied.

When we came back into the room, we saw just 4--without skirt clamps. Not a problem and we handled it.

The following day we arrived back at our room after 3 pm and it was NOT serviced at all. Again we went to our friendly front desk and they apologized, marked it on a list and said it will be taken care of.

After dinner, we came back to the room and discovered that the baskets were not emptied, they did not replace the used bath towel, they just took it away, we were out of coffee packages-they did not refill them and did not replace the used paper coffee cups. Again we made a trip to the friendly front desk, lodged our complaints, saw them written down but this time the desk lady searched for coffee packages and gave us a handful. When asked for the coffee cups because we had none, she could not find them and said they will have to be taken care the following day.

The shower head was off the shower pipe, the water turner-oner rumbled loudly when it was turned on, the bathroom door was rotted on the bottom but we said nothing for it was a minor issue to us. The lighting was very poor.

The next day, after the room was supposedly cleaned and brought up to "snuff", my wife remarked that it seemed that all that was done was to make the beds. Sure enough, I had to find the cleaning service to give us a roll of toilet paper and a box of tissues--both of which were empty.

This was our last night and I decided to complete the form asking what we thought of our stay. I sure did. I at least expected a response via e-mail but nothing came. I have to assume that Wyndham does not care and since there are many people available, they can afford to lose customers.

As a final note, several of our party had similar cleaning problems and brought them to the friendly people at the front desk.

As I indicated, I have stayed there 5 times but will never stay again.

I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needinfoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your guest experience at our hotel. We appreciate any and all comments that you have to offer so that we can recognize outstanding service form a certain employee, or learn what we need change to be able to meet all of your needs for a better guest experience.
All of your comments have been discussed within our executive team and we thank you for taking the time to share them with us.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview Suites
(847)803-9800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

i was at this hotel 2 weeks ago on business when you walk into the place it looks great but dont let that trick you because they spent all there money to pull you into the hote,l staff members dont care. the room that i was in was very out dated tube tv in the bedroom couch had holes in it frig i think was from the 80's the ac in the room was runing the time of my stay wich was for 3 nights and i think it got down to 75 at night at the lowest i was in a room on 2nd floor next to loby, would not stay in that room again music from the loby was very loud at all time. but from all that, ive seen worse/ i was very disapointed when i paid over 300$ for 3 nights and went to get breakfast in the morning and had to pay another 9.00 for that beacuse it was not included in with my rate i paid for that the first morning the hash browns where very salty and cold and this was at 6:10 in the morning bacon as well was very cold ,only good thing was the coffee but for 9.00$ its was horrible i will never stay there again.

Room Tip: dont buy the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviddanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your guest experience at our hotel. We appreciate any and all comments that you have to offer so that we can recognize outstanding service form a certain employee, or learn what we need change to be able to meet all of your needs for a better guest experience.
All of your comments have been discussed within our executive team and we thank you for taking the time to share them with us.
Our property has just completed a renovation of our Swimming Pool area as well as our Fitness Center. We have also increase our Complimentary WiFi Speeds and have started installing 42" LCD TV's in the bedroom area of the Guest Suites to compliment the already installed 32" LCD in the Living Room Area and have updated our 2 Business Centers. We are undergoing lots of other upgrades to the property and we cannot wait to see you again so you can see all of the upgrades since your last stay with us.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview Suites
(847)803-9800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

When researching hotels before our trip, I found this hotel but didn't book it because there were several bad reviews here on tripadvisor. We booked Holiday Inn-Ohare instead. That place was terrible...we were going to stay five nights but wanted out of there. We visited the Wyndham Glenview Suites and they showed us a suite. It was wonderful. We packed up and got the heck out of Holiday Inn-Ohare and moved to Wyndham Glenview Suites and had four wonderful nights there. The place is BEAUTIFUL, suites are spacious and I got a great rate with my Illinois Farm Bureau discount. If we go to the area again, we will deffinately stay at the Wyndham Glenview Suites. Incase you're wondering...as I do when I see a great rating..no, I do not work for Wyndham. We truly had a wonderful experience there!!! We would highly recommend it to anyone! Thank you Wyndham Glenview Suites! :)

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and had no outside noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, October 26, 2015
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore for your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review to share your comments. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations during their stay and we use these reviews as a training tool so we can continue to make any necessary changes to please all of our guests. Each week I discuss all of the reviews with my executive teams to recognize the employees that stood out, and to discuss what we need to improve on to enhance the overall stay.
Please feel free to contact me if there is anything that I can do, and we look forward to seeing you again on any return visits to the area so you can see the changes that we have made in our service and property.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed over the weekend in July 2012. It was a wedding mania at the property as several large groups were staying at this property. Overall, we had a pleasant weekend stay at this property. Rooms are okay. Nothing impressive. My room 636 - 1. Bedroom carpet had a pull . Was annoying to look at. but not a big deal. 2. Shower experience - Next morning The Water was warm. Then during the shower the water turned alot cooler. I felt sorry for my 2 year old who was shiverring in the shower. I'm not sure why some property's have issues with the water heater and most others seems to have plenty of hot water. That was my sour / bad issue.

It was to late to address this with hotel management as after the shower what's the point. ...

Wasn't pleased overall with Wyndham. But it's a place to stay. My other choice was to join the rest of my wedding party at the HIlton NOrthbrook which I didn't want to do since I wanted more space.

Room Tip: NO FREE BREAKFAST AT THIS PLACE! They must have changed from years ago when they did offer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North, responded to this review, October 26, 2015
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore for your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review to share your comments. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations during their stay and we use these reviews as a training tool so we can continue to make any necessary changes to please all of our guests. Each week I discuss all of the reviews with my executive teams to recognize the employees that stood out, and to discuss what we need to improve on to enhance the overall stay.
Please feel free to contact me if there is anything that I can do, and we look forward to seeing you again on any return visits to the area so you can see the changes that we have made in our service and property.

Sincerely,

Matthew Clayson
General Manager
Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenview
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Glenview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North

Property: Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North
Address: 1400 Milwaukee Ave, Glenview, IL 60025-1400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Glenview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Glenview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Glenview, Illinois, just 30 minutes from downtown Chicago, Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago Northshore offers everything needed for a relaxing, stress-free experience. Whether traveling to the area for business or leisure, you'll be invited to enjoy a variety of features and services to make your stay the best it can be with us. At the Wyndham Glenview Suites, you can expect more than just comfortable lodging while visiting northern Illinois - expect an experience filled with conveniences and services any traveler can enjoy, including close proximity to Downtown Chicago and other popular area attractions. Discover exciting things to do nearby, including festive seasonal events, exciting family-friendly activities, unique shopping destinations and more! Make your trip to Glenview one to remember by booking a stay at Wyndham Glenview Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Glenview Suites Chicago North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Glenview Hotel Glenview
Glenview Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing