We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit - Good, not great.”
Review of Ted's Montana Grill - CLOSED

Ted's Montana Grill
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Ted's Montana Grill serves time-honored American favorites in an atmosphere inspired by the hospitality, food and spirit of the Old West. Our mission is to give guests a fresh, authentic and original experience with every visit. Ted's Montana Grill's made-from-scratch menu is known for our premium hand-cut steaks and gourmet burgers. The menu also offers a variety of time-honored favorites such as crab cakes, cedar plank salmon, daily soups, seasonal vegetables, and house-made desserts. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time visit - Good, not great.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Wanted to try something different, so we thought we would give Ted's a try. My wife is a fan of Bison, I am not, however the menu had other choices that I thought I might like. Should have own, that the restaurant was pretty quiet (lots of empty tables) for a Friday nite that this was not going to be good. Started off with a basket of Potato chips with ranch dip, and an order of grilled shrimp on a toasted garlic ciabatta role with garlic butter. Appetizer was very, very good. My wife ordered the Bison Pot Roast, I order the Beef Ribeye. My wife really enjoyed the pot roast, very tender, lots of flavor. My ribeye ($29) was very disappointing. Ordered Medium, came out medium well, not much flavor had to add some salt and pepper. The steak appeared to have been frozen, thawed and cooked. The steak fries were good, the garlic broccoli, had a burnt taste to it. My wife says this dining experience was a 4, I gave it a 2, overall it was a 3. BTW.....Our server was Tiffany she was great, very nice and friendly. Sorry but unlikely we would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocco-Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what Ted intended”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I can't put my finger on this but Ted Turner was going for food you might find from Mom... but I do not like the execution. It feels like they get the crowd who could not get in any other restaurant in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Activation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price in Glenview, IL”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This restaurant offers a fairly wide range of food choices at good prices. The wait staff is friendly and accommodating. Their planked salmon is tasty and offered in two sized portions. Parking is nearby, but you might have to walk a half to a block to get there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfan089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A New Experience In Dining”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was skeptical at first when I heard that bison was on the menu. But I went with a group of family members to celebrate a birthday. I was so pleasantly surprised about the knowledge of the server, the fantastic menu and the warmth of the place. We received samples of bison before we ordered, so that if we didnt like the bison, we could change anything on the menu to either beef or chicken. The food was awesome. It was cooked exactly to order and was hot when our meals came out. The atmosphere was warm and we enjoyed our meals. When the waiter found out about the birhday, she brought out some ice cream and a large cookie for the birthday girl. How festive.
And as I always do, I checked out the ladies room. It was very clean and nicely put together.
I would do a MapQuest for directions if you aren't familiar with the town of Glenview. Parking at the time of nite that we went, seemed rather limited. But we found a public lot behind the stores.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bison burgers-great.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ted's is a great place for burgers. Fries are hand cut. Service is sometimes a bit slow. Busy times could mean a wait for a table. They don't take reservations, but will do call ahead seating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank educate316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Montana Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing