We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Gelato - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Via Gelato
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not bad....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Tried a few oddball flavors, wound up with coffee. As I love coffee ice cream and gelato, it was coffee enough. But it just wasn't as rich and creamy as I expect gelato to be. Still, the "kiddie" size was adequate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not Cheap Gelato But Very Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ok, so if you're in the mood for some really tasty gelato go here....
It's not cheap but very tasty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ericl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Gelato”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Happen to find Via Gelato through an online search of events. They have jazz music on weekends which is what drew me there. Went for gelato and jazz on a Saturday evening though they have other cafe food and crepes too. The gelato was very good (we had dark chocolate and nutella). The jazz music was super - looked like to teens who were very experienced playing music together from the way it sounded. Although it was too loud inside (small venue), there were outside tables that we could enjoy the gelato and listen to the music at a pleasant volume.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DOChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'm not a huge gelato fan, but when I ate my Birthday Cake gelato from Via Gelato, I ended up getting a pint to go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Neighborhood Hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Via Gelato is the perfect place to stop in, relax, grab a bite, and get the best gelato in the area!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheThreeStooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Gelato also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing