We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait for the Lake Zurich opening! ”
Review of El Jardin - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jardin
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buxton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Can't wait for the Lake Zurich opening! ”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Have been here many times as it is so worth the trip from Lake Zurich. The food is only surpassed by the margaritas. The outdoor dining is wonderful in the summer. The staff are great, working together to keep you from waiting for anything. If you have special needs or want a specific table, call ahead, they have always accommodated. Can't wait for the new Lake Zurich El Jardin coming soon:-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Bsuttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
228 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dark inside”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Been here many times, never feel all that comfortable. Service is just OK and the food is also just OK, but the drinks are good. Location great for dinner and a movie.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
285 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“convenient”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

food is ok - nothing stands out as great. convenient if shopping or going to a movie in the Glen. taste a little too americanized for me

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dfutransky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKOKIE
Level Contributor
226 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dingy Yet Delicious!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first visit to El Jardin Norte with a WE DEAL coupon...& it may or may not be our last. The decor is very dingy and dark and not inviting. The crepe paper streamers, plastic flags and fake flowers cheapen it and no doubt harbor dust....this place could be so much more inviting with bright yellow paint and new lighting. On to the food, the salsa and chips are just wonderful! I had to ask for seconds and even wanted to buy some but our server appeared not to understand our request. I had the steak fajitas. Kind of pricey....they give you a base price of just vegetables and you add $2-4 depending on what kind of protein you want. Very odd pricing. My husband had the steak tacos and enjoyed them as well. Service was sketchy. The restaurant was half full and yet the service was slow. Overall, I enjoyed the meal but this restaurant in The Glen could be so much more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

New Menu - Same food, but higher prices.Food is OK but not for the price. Extra $1.50 for a little more Pico to go with an appetizer as an example.




Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lvftmyersbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing