We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy Yet Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Jardin - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jardin
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
SKOKIE
Level Contributor
222 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dingy Yet Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first visit to El Jardin Norte with a WE DEAL coupon...& it may or may not be our last. The decor is very dingy and dark and not inviting. The crepe paper streamers, plastic flags and fake flowers cheapen it and no doubt harbor dust....this place could be so much more inviting with bright yellow paint and new lighting. On to the food, the salsa and chips are just wonderful! I had to ask for seconds and even wanted to buy some but our server appeared not to understand our request. I had the steak fajitas. Kind of pricey....they give you a base price of just vegetables and you add $2-4 depending on what kind of protein you want. Very odd pricing. My husband had the steak tacos and enjoyed them as well. Service was sketchy. The restaurant was half full and yet the service was slow. Overall, I enjoyed the meal but this restaurant in The Glen could be so much more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

New Menu - Same food, but higher prices.Food is OK but not for the price. Extra $1.50 for a little more Pico to go with an appetizer as an example.




Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lvftmyersbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“waste of calories and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

deafening noise with a group of patrons totally dominating the restaurant-food dreadful-
strange mix of vegetables-skimpy portions and a tablespoon of sour cream, etc-
mediocre chips and watery salsa-will never return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for Alfresco dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We go to El jardin about 3 times a month. We love the chips and salsa. Other mexican restaurants don't seem to offer the same quality. During the warm months we love sitting on the outside tables. The food and the service are really good.
This place is always busy and has a good atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and always seem happy. My only reason for giving a 4 rating is that the the restaurant looks like it could do with a fresher look. I would say you get good value for money here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S0uvlaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small portions,hig prices,poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the time we sat down for dinner it took 40 minutes before any food arrived. The fish tacos had one shrimp in them, the burritos we okay but not very warm and the fajitas were barely passable. Service was poor to very poor. Never again...there are too many good Mexican restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin also viewed

 
Glenview, IL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing