We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Alfresco dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jardin - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jardin
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for Alfresco dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We go to El jardin about 3 times a month. We love the chips and salsa. Other mexican restaurants don't seem to offer the same quality. During the warm months we love sitting on the outside tables. The food and the service are really good.
This place is always busy and has a good atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and always seem happy. My only reason for giving a 4 rating is that the the restaurant looks like it could do with a fresher look. I would say you get good value for money here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S0uvlaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small portions,hig prices,poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the time we sat down for dinner it took 40 minutes before any food arrived. The fish tacos had one shrimp in them, the burritos we okay but not very warm and the fajitas were barely passable. Service was poor to very poor. Never again...there are too many good Mexican restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food with Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hello All,
Well we bought a Groupon and used it last night at El Jardin...But NOT on the special so beware..
We ate outside which was nice only because they did not turn on the A/C.
Service was good and the food was great. We both had the combo with a taco, burrito and tostado. Beware the pork is a bit on the spicy side....The guacamole and salsa is Excellent!
Overall a great restaurant with good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we are craving Mexican food - this is our spot. I love their veggie burrito. Our kids can always find something - a cheese quesadilla, chicken fingers. There margaritas are not to be missed...take them slow because they do creep up on you. Table salsa is delicious. We had a salad this last visit and tried the avocado garlic dressing - very tasty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thazard143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mexican Mainstay in the Glen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Been coming here since it opened in the Glen as the N side version of an old neighborhood favorite in Chicago. As my boys grew, they reached a point where they go with their own friends and have always been treated well. El Jardin Norte has outlasted several chains restaurants that
have come and gone as it has both loyal and eclectic clientele. Families are always treated well.
Larry And Gus have kept most of the staff forever. This is, in itself, remarkable where employee turnover at so many places is the norm.
Yes, the margaritas are potent (2 may be the limit) and their specials are even better as are the many tequilas that are offered. Don't forget the 43.
Food is solid comfort fare with the carne asada my favorite. Fajitas remain a solid favorite as well.
We have come on birthdays, holidays and just days when we had the yearning for for margaritas and Mexican food in comfortable surroundings.
When Chicago weather breaks it is always nice to sit outside with a tasty margarita.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing