We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only the service matched the food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolane's Cafe

Jolane's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Jolane's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 157 Restaurants in Glenview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Milwaukee and Zenith
Description: Jolane's Restaurant & Bar in Glenview features exclusive contemporary cuisine with a European flair along with artesian libations. Patrons can enjoy one of the weekly dinner or lunch specials and a glass of our proudly hand selected wine in the intimate dining room, or elegant, sun-soaked conservatory. The unique menu is derived from high quality ingredients and is complemented by the dedicated service of each employee. Whether it's lunch or dinner, with close friends or a party; Jolane's is the perfect balance of comfort and sophistication. We also have free Wi-Fi and a kids menu for our younger guests.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only the service matched the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Jolane's is an attractive European style cafe located at the south end of the Abt strip complex. They serve good and often quite refreshingly original lunch dishes, both fast food type, and regular entree dishes. The desserts are superb but pricey, and the coffee is excellent. However, of the perhaps 6-8 times I have been there, the service has been appalling all except the last time. On earlier visits I have waited 30 mins plus after ordering, for anything edible to appear on the table. Strangely, once the meal is finished, no one seems to want to process a credit card and return it to the table. I write this review in the hope that the owner will wake up and improve service in this very nice place before there are no patrons left to serve.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great European fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you want great soup and menu choices that feel like 'ol Europe this is the place!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnC7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice menu and good food, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Something must be done about the service before we will return. We met six friends here for dinner. We loved the atmosphere but the restaurant was short-staffed. Our poor waiter was run ragged. We would have ordered another drink and dessert if dinner had not taken so long...ridiculously long. Come on, Jolane's...get your act together. You have a great location and a beautiful restaurant. Hire more wait staff and another bartender!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“mother's day celebration ruined”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

After reading some reviews on TA, decided to celebrate Mother's Day at Jolane's Cafe. During reservations making , asked for a table on the enclosed patio and was told that it doesn't open till end of May. As we arrived at the restaurant, the patio was open with lots of free tables (it was a gorgeous and sunny day), I mentioned that I requested the patio but supposedly it's closed. Of course, they didn't have any available tables on the patio and we were led to a corner dark booth, near the kitchen from where a foul smell of fish and fumes was coming out. I mentioned it to our waitress, and again - no reaction. The menu was horrible, choices very few and only Mother's day special. When bread was brought, no plates were given, had to hunt for our waitress. We decided to get scallops for appetizer (only other item on menu was lobster bisque soup), they broght 3 pieces of the smallest scallops I've ever seen that were plain, and burnt. For main course, we ordered Salmon and all plates arrived cold, with fish swimming in a sauce which was also cold. For desert, the only choice was pudding. The whole atmosphere and food made us feel like in a nursing home (bland, cold, unappetizing food). It was Mother's day, most restaurants went above and beyond (champagne at entrance, or chocolate covered strawberries,etc). To summerize: they lied about the patio, service was poor, quality of food was poor and uncaring, menu choices were limited and usual "Wendy's special". The day was totally ruined and we would never again go to this restaurant as well will advise to all my friends to stay away.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank honeycakes018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Looking for TASTE-Found it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We wanted to go out for lunch in the neighborhood but were tired of the same old foods. We selected Jolane's because I had been there before and remembered that they had a variety of tasty entree selections that were different.
First of all it is the cutest little place with coffee and wine bottles lining the custom wooden shelves. There is also a beautiful display of desserts in a refrigerated case when you walk in.
My husband ordered the Chipoltle beef soup. Everyone had a taste and LOVED it. We ended up getting another cup to share. I ordered a beef and cheddar sandwich served on a pretzel roll with a side of homemade chips. My husband ordered the burger, also on a pretzel roll with fries. My one son ordered the pulled pork sandwich and my other son ordered a turkey, bacon and cheese pannini on flatbread with a side of mixed greens. Everything was DELICIOUS and the presentation was nice as well.
We had such an enjoyable, Saturday afternoon, family lunch and we all want to go back again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFinkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolane's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jolane's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing