We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Chicago Botanic Garden
from $180.00
More Info
from $39.00
More Info
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveler rating
948
129
15
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
948
129
15
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden rose garden english garden sensory garden cook county tram tour butterfly exhibit model train different seasons plants and flowers spring and summer full bloom gardens are beautiful special events gift shop year round water features
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Since we live in the Chicago land area we go here when ever we can take a day off. We just went to go see the winter wonderland express and it looked amazing. The kids were given a bingo sheet where they have to find every thing on the bingo sheet. The actual set up was amazing. It was a really good model of the city. I am a big cubs fan so my favorite part was the mini Wrigley field with a mini TV that played "go cubs go" and showed the play that won cubs the world series. Over all it was a really fun trip

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Racer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016

We started a family membership this year (2016) with Chicago Botanic Garden because we love the place however on December 26th we were let down.

Towards the end of a wonderful visit, on our way out to exit we were harassed by an employee named Mary T.

The employee ran up to me and yelled REPEATEDLY only inches from my face in a threatening manner "WHY ARE YOU HERE?"

I was shocked and confused, I've come here many times before and never had experienced any issues, I though this was a public and FRIENDLY area, I saw no restriction signs anywhere and wasn't given an explanation to what I supposedly did wrong.

To add to this confusion, another member of the staff was laughing in the background as they watched this ridiculous event unfold.

I found this behavior very rude and unprofessional and felt I had to leave this review as a result.

We came home so disgusted by this event so we decided for next year to renew our membership with Boerner Botanical Gardens in Wisconsin since we live close to the state border. It turns out their membership is half the price with the same access to all gardens in the US like we have now.

I'm sad that I really liked the Chicago Botanic Garden but will have to be avoiding it now due to this unprofessional behavior. It's a shame.

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank ESmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

The replicas of famous city buildings are spectacular. They are all made from natural
Wood materials and are complete with lighting & are truly fantastic . It's all set with beautiful flowers growing around plants with train tracks and functioning trains running around tracks
Worth seeing but only open for a few more weeks

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Evelynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

Outstanding place to visit any season of the year. Plantings are beautiful, miniature railroad for children, classes for adults and children, charming gift shop, very nice cafe, tram for those who cannot walk it's lovely paths. Definitely worth a visit whether a visitor or Chicago area resident.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank CARYL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

This place is so beautiful all year round, the pond, the plants, the people, nothing falls short. In the summer they have a variety of things for kids and in the cooler months indoor greenhouses. Kids love it and i do like their cafe as well. Worth a visit for everyone in the family.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Itisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews