We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...but loud !”
Review of A Toda Madre

A Toda Madre
Order Online
Ranked #4 of 116 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

Went in with another couple and started with drinks at the bar while waiting on table (call ahead list, but you can’t get on it till there are no tables available for walk in) . Small-ish place and it was hard to reach thru the patrons dining at the bar to order drinks without reaching over someone’s dinner or shouting in their ear so bartenders could hear you. We had called ahead about 30 min before arriving and had a short 15 min wait. The mule with Tito’s and gran marnier was made to perfection !
Upon being seated, the service was quick, attentive and pleasant. We had the tilapia tacos, swordfish tacos, skirt steak and braised pork tacos and all 4 dishes where great ( though all but the tilapia were too spicy for my wife’s taste buds). We also had the Mexican corn dish as appetizers and that was excellent and not too spicy ! With 4 small tacos (three to four bites) , it’s best shared with another couple so everyone can try them all. Definitely worth the trip and the wait !

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank W1361FLmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2019

Made a reservation- they made us wait (plenty of room and not busy @ 5) Waited nearly 85 minutes and still did not have all our meals. Yes, understandably a tapas made to order but how in Gods name does the signature dish come out with cheese - and the one without cheese??? Still MIA.
The waitress hid half the time - food was temperate not even warm definitely NOT impressed. Especially for the freaking price!!!


Roger Ebert would agree

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Whether for a quick lunch or more leisure dinner, A Toda Madre is a great place to visit. Fresh ingredients, small plates. A bit loud especially in front room, If you want a more leisure dining experience do not order entire meal at once as food is brought out promptly. Visited this restaurant when they were in Geneva and visited for opening night in Glen Ellyn. A go to place when in the mood for Mexican food.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fit2aT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Food was good, service was good. I would give it a 5 except it was a bit noisy and hard to hear at times.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

I visited for dinner around 5:30pm on a weeknight with my father (first time there for both of us). The music was a bit loud but otherwise the setting was very attractive and comfortable.

We both ordered tacos, I also had a salsa sampler and a beer. All of the food was very good (if not actually exceptional). With top it was a $50 dinner, so on the expensive side considering the smallish amount of food.

The servers were also great too, though, so I felt good about the visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank GoneOffTheGrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Toda Madre also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 

Been to A Toda Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing