We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatiest ribs - half a slab'l do ya”

Alfie's Inn Incorporated
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meatiest ribs - half a slab'l do ya”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Have gone to Alfies and many, many years. People rave about the fish and the burgers, but I'm not buying those. But the CORNED BEEF and the RIBS? Amazing! Lots of meat on the ribs. Service is quick and efficient. Good place to take a family.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siouxbee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    51
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wheaton IL
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to Alfies for over 25 years! Great burgers, ribs, potatoe skins, zucchini all great nothing bad on the menu. We go for burgers mostly they come in baskets with tons of fries and a pickle! Always great service, same awful decor but you are there for the good food!

Helpful?
Thank zimrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant for Ribs, burgers, fried fish, etc”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is an inexpensive, local icon. If you go with the right expectations, you will love it. I recommend the ribs, but just about anything on the menu is good and well worth the visit. Just remember that it is not a fancy place. It is a dark, family atmosphere with suits of armor that makes it feel a little medieval. We enjoy it as a family.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DDAVOUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Consistently yummy burgers, salads and fried zucchini”
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

With all the hoopla about "pink slime" in your local burger joints (eeew) Alfie's Inn states they do not use such ingredients-and you would know once you bite into your burger anyway. Party Melt, medium-well, substitute a sald for the fries, and partake of the basket of fried zucchini with garlic dip-that's what to order! Now, I do like fries but I have to say I don't particularly care for their fries :( and they give you a ton of them with your entrees so it's probably a good thing I don't like them! But the rest of the family likes them-so you be the judge I guess. For a burger joint to have great salads is quite rare-and they have such fresh greens in their salads-not a lot of iceberg-real lettuce and dressings are great. My kids liked the ribs a lot and otherwise we stick with burgers although the menu does have steaks, roast beef, etc. The place is quite dark, no windows either but pretty lively inside as it is locally popular and we've never seen it "empty". Prices reasonable too!

Helpful?
Thank ProfLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Burger-Great Price!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The burgers are great and Low Carb Friendly for Atkins Dieters like me!
There is NO dessert menu to tempt you and the service was friendly!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psalms_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfie's Inn Incorporated also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Alfie's Inn Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing