We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College dorm this is not”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Ellyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While I did not spend the night at the Water's Edge, I did book the room for my brother-in-law who was visiting us in Glen Ellyn; I did have opportunity to have a detailed visit of the rooms. Judging by the undiluted enthusiasm expressed by him during his visit, I am happy to give maximum stars for this property. If you are able to get the employee rate, that represents an outstanding value. Should you get the Saturday night brunch package with the adjoining Waterleaf, that also seems like a great value too. The biggest challenge facing a visitor might be finding the entrance on the college campus; it is somewhat obscure nestling near the currently under-construction arts center.

The room is large and lavishly appointed, tastefully decorated and quiet, while affording a pleasant view over the water. Unlimited espresso is on tap courtesy of a Lavazza machine in the hallway, where breakfast is also provided of a morning. The walk-in shower is perhaps the highlight.

Anti-tax critics might question the use of the taxpayers' money in the construction and running of this "laboratory for students" but, that aside, it makes for a great place to stay where options are few and far between.

Room Tip: All six rooms face the same direction so they are essentially all alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aylwin_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to give such a detailed review of our hotel. Thank you for bringing up your challenge in finding our hotel. We continue to work with the college on additional signage for the hotel. I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay at the Inn at Water's Edge October 14-16 was absolutely lovely and so inviting for any guest. What a great find!!! Very comfortable room, impressive bathroom, delicious food and the staff were extremely helpful & welcoming. We would definitely go back in the future and recommend to family and friends. Thank you so much!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lmeegg811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your willingness to refer your friends and family and would love the opportunity to have them stay with us. We hope to see you and your husband again in the future! Thank you for choosing Inn at Water's Edge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a very quiet area. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Extremely clean and well laid out room. The bathroom is large and very functional. Comfortable bed. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doug Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us this weekend! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The view was pretty and the staff was friendly. The room was generally nice, but some aspects seemed to be designed more to look nice than for practical use. In particular, I found the desk wasn't deep enough and not well enough lit to do serious work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I appreciate your comments on the lighting and design of our rooms. This will allow us to make changes and improve our guest experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderful stay on a week night. The room and bathroom are everything you want it to be. Clean, quiet, luxurious, comfortable. The breakfast was great too - coffee, fresh fruit and pastries. What a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I appreciate your genuine feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great place in every way. Room was large, CLEAN, quiet, comfy beds, classy and has everything you need for a great nights stay. The breakfast was nice and had enough of everything to get you going in the morning.

We've stayed at a lot of hotels during our travels, and the Inn at Water's Edge holds its own against any hotel brand out there. We would stay here again in a heart beat.

Well done Water's Edge!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dwctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

chose this place based on existing reviews... i second all the praises!
clean, nicely furnished, nice water view, friendly staff (either paid professional or dupage students in training). very nice restaurant too (mon, tue it is operated by the students and their instructors), other days its leased out to a professional group. i enjoyed both meals. expect some minor "learning curves" from students in training, but none that interfere with the visit; if anything - made it charmier.
minor issues: (a) no refrigerator/micro in the rooms (but they will allow you to use a centrally located one). (b) took me a while to find the place within the collage. (apparently most students don't know about "Inn at Water's Edge", but they DO know the "Culinary and Hospitality Center", so ask for the later if lost.
highly recommended!

Room Tip: there are only 6 rooms; all with the same lake view. so i don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aristo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Inn at Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay this week. You pointed out two issues that we will certainly address. Although we offer our kitchen refrigerator to our hotel guests, I agree that one in our rooms would be a nicer touch. Additionally, locating our hotel can be challenging. I will work with my team to address this further. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
3.3 mi away
Hilton Lisle / Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Lisle Naperville Hotel
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Water's Edge

Address: 425 Fawell Blvd, Culinary and Hospitality Center at College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range: $99 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Water's Edge features six beautifully appointed, eco-friendly rooms designed for your comfort and convenience in Glen Ellyn, IL. Discover a world-class inn close to home• Luxury accommodations with walk-in marble shower, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet access and more• Floor-to-ceiling windows with beautiful waterside views • Concierge lounge• Breakfast served daily from 6:30 to 9 a.m.• Nightly turndown service• Front desk open 24/7• Bell staff• Private keyed access to hotel floor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing