We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Fire + Wine

Fire + Wine
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casual dining with sophisticated hospitality. American food with an Italian twist, fresh prepared everyday! 78 wine bottle list, 45 global wines by the glass, hand crafted fresh cocktails, 38 item beer craft list. Reservations not accepted, we do offer a "call ahead, priority wait list" which you can call days and weeks in advance to get on, highly recommend to reduce wait times. Seating preference is given to elderly, pregnant woman, families with babies and local regular customers as a courtesy. Very family friendly local restaurant. TripAdvisor #1 restaurant in Glen Ellyn 4 years in a row as well as Certificate of Excellence.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

I’ve been here many times over the years and it’s a dependable place for great food. Their meatball sliders, octopus, grilled wedge salad, all pizzas and pasta are amazing.

They also do take out, which we will do when we don’t feel like waiting.

The only two negatives, which are minor, are: 1) they don’t have cocktail menu but their cocktail special is always so good. Please create a cocktail menu, even if small. 2) The Manager’s will make it clear when you’ve been sitting too long. They don’t say anything, but they keep looking at your table. It’s understandable, but there is literally no bar to go sit at to continue a conversation and have a drink. Their bar space is super small and the seats are impossible to get.

Thank nicole4278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJVai, Owner at Fire + Wine, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Hi Nicole,
Thank you for the great 5 star review!
We appreciate all your words.

Cocktail list...our bar is small, we actually do not have room behind the bar with the incredible volume that we do to have space for all kinds of specialty liquors and liqueurs for a cocktail list. You can always ask your server to recommend something else and we typically are able to create a great cocktail for you.

We are taking over the space next to us were Katy's Boutique was and are going to build a very cool cocktail lounge. Stay tuned for that, our community is going to love it!

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

We are visiting GE and possibly moving here due to a job my wife accepted in Chicago.
We loved the restaurant, choices, service and atmosphere. My wife particularly appreciated the small plates.
What a thrill to have solid restaurant choices so close to home.

Thank griman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJVai, Owner at Fire + Wine, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Thanks griman5! We appreciate the review and great words!
Good luck with your move and please say hello when you come in.
Cheers...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Great food. Great service.
Tends to be noisy. Sometimes cool, especially by windows,so have a light extra layer in any season.

Thank cmelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We don't go to this restaurant very often because there is a very small window between the time that they open and the time they get really crowded.
Although there are many enticing items on the menu, we usually have pizza. I'm partial to the margherita pizza but my wife tried the bbq chicken pizza and it was fantastic. It was totally unlike any other pizza I've ever had and I plan to eat it again.
Panna cotta for dessert was also quite tasty.
The staff was very friendly and the service exemplary.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _bookworm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJVai, Owner at Fire + Wine, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi Bookworm2000,
Thanks for the outstanding review! We appreciate the recognition for all we try to do, outstanding, fun and friendly service along with a great vibe and wonderful delicious food.
Try our Call Ahead Prioity Wait List, it gets you sat quickly when we are on a wait.
Thanks again!
Cheers...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Consistently good Italian cuisine I never eat spaghetti and meatballs outside of my own home. When I have a craving and don't want to cook, I head here. All menu items are well prepared!

Thank Alixjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJVai, Owner at Fire + Wine, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks Alixjerome, we love our spaghetti and meatballs too!
Please say hello next time in.
Cheers...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire + Wine also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Fire + Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing