We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New residents thrilled with this find!”
Review of Fire + Wine

Fire + Wine
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casual dining with sophisticated hospitality. American food with an Italian twist, fresh prepared everyday! 78 wine bottle list, 45 global wines by the glass, hand crafted fresh cocktails, 38 item beer craft list. Reservations not accepted, we do offer a "call ahead, priority wait list" which you can call days and weeks in advance to get on, highly recommend to reduce wait times. Seating preference is given to elderly, pregnant woman, families with babies and local regular customers as a courtesy. Very family friendly local restaurant. TripAdvisor #1 restaurant in Glen Ellyn 4 years in a row as well as Certificate of Excellence.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We moved here in January and even before the move had been advised this was the place in Glen Ellyn to check out... What a treat to have such a quality place that we can walk to from our home. There is a wait most nights but we enjoy arriving around 4-5pm, sitting in the bar area, enjoying craft beers, daily special cocktails. Don't miss the zucchini fries, lightly battered and fried, the best. Pizzas are good. They can make some of their dishes gluten free... Take out available too. Staff is relaxed, friendly but not slow.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 286 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well Flour and Wine has done it again!
We stopped in on a Tuesday night figuring it was a Tuesday and yes they were on a short wait......on a Tuesday at 7:20!
But it was another homerun!
The service was great as always, but the meal we had was excellent.
I started with the mussels that are in a sauce that can only be described as awesome and then I had the Mushroom Shashetti(I know I am guessing at the spelling) but the flavors and combined with the mussels was the BEST meal I have had in years. We then finished off dinner with a burnt caramel gelato that was the best gelato ever.
If you have not been here you don't know what you are missing!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonder dinner with friends last night. Enjoyed wonderful drinks, appetizers and original pizza. The service was excellent and very knowledgeable about the entire menu. Environment is very casual and relaxed. Great place for a night out with friends. Price was great as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank press0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I must admit, I was surprised that Glen Ellyn FINALLY has a great restaurant. Flour and Wine has stepped it up a notch in this town!
From the excellent pizza combinations, to the gourmet pasta, you can't go wrong.
Yes, they go on a wait early, and the bar gets full, but the wait is worth it and the prices are reasonable. If you eat out often, one bite will convince you that this place will be here for a long time.
It is nice to get quality, without a drive! We don't go out often because of traffic on the weekend nights, but that will change now.

This gem "rocks"!

So if you have a special occasion, or just want a good beer and a bite, stop and enjoy.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Tried Flour and Wine on a recommendation by someone who lives in G.E. Kids traveling basketball team had a late Saturday p.m. game in Glen Ellyn and were looking for a good spot for dinner after. Wow, what a surprise. No reservatios but put name on the call in list and waited 20 minutes for a table....well worth it. We ordered "family style" and each item was terrific. Had the pizza, burrata, Chicken Milanese, Pasta special and kids had a pasta. Everything was super fresh and delicious. Even squeezed in a dessert!! Very reasonable prices based on quality of the food. Good wine selection.
We wish our town had somthing this great!!!

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire + Wine also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Fire + Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing