We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop in and stay awhile. Nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fire + Wine

Fire + Wine
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Casual dining with sophisticated hospitality. American food with an Italian twist, fresh prepared everyday! 78 wine bottle list, 45 global wines by the glass, hand crafted fresh cocktails, 38 item beer craft list. Reservations not accepted, we do offer a "call ahead, priority wait list" which you can call days and weeks in advance to get on, highly recommend to reduce wait times. Seating preference is given to elderly, pregnant woman, families with babies and local regular customers as a courtesy. Very family friendly local restaurant. TripAdvisor #1 restaurant in Glen Ellyn 4 years in a row as well as Certificate of Excellence.
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stop in and stay awhile. Nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Good basic fare, quality over quantity.
Great atmosphere and service. Welcoming and accomodating. Families or couples or just working on your laptop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiraffeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    56
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IndyRob
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always satisfies...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been to Flour & Wine numerous times since its opening. The pizza is always great. They have a solid variety of small plates and their salads are tremendous. Great atmosphere. Solid service. Go to restaurant in GE.

Helpful?
Thank IndyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Regular Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We're former residents of Glen Ellyn who now live about 50 miles away. We still come to our favorite little town now and then and when we do, we schedule so we can have dinner at Flour+Wine. This restaurant is a treat (we now live in a culinary desert) for us and we've never had a bad item here. The house salad, for starters, is great with crusted pecans and a super dressing. We've had many of the entrees and loved them all. Last time, we had a special: Carbonara chicken with spinach and hollow spaghetti noodles (can't remember the Italian name). Sumptuous and filling. The portions here are generous and the service is excellent. This is fine dining in a fine little town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great additon to our town...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been to Flour + Wine a handful of times now. We are finding it to be one of our favorite restaurants in town. Service has improved nicely since their opening (all restaurants deserve a grace-period for getting servers, chefs, front-of-house staff acclimated...just my humble opinion).

A few favorites of ours are the Zucchini Fries (very light tempura-like batter, large sharing portion), the Parma wood-fired pizza with Parma Prociutto and arugula, and the Calamari. We tried the crab/rock shrimp fritters on our last visit, and they were quite good with a nice seasonal salad on the plate (had butternut squash in it and was very good). It was a bit on the small-side for sharing (two fritters).

They always have a very thoughtful list of great brews on draft, and also several others by the bottle. Wine list is small but also is thoughtful and has some fairly reasonable wines-by-the-glass offered.

Atmosphere is very nice. They upgraded the old Figo space nicely without going overboard, fixing many of they problems I thought that space had. Nice energetic vibe, knowledgeable servers, prompt table bussing and water service.

Be aware that they do not take reservations, but do have a 'call list' you can get your name on by calling before you leave for the restaurant. We did not have to wait for our table upon arrival and it was quite busy for a Wednesday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glenellynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Italian Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful surprise to find a top-shelf Italian restaurant with a variety of Gluten Free options! Not only are many of the items on the menu gluten free by default, but the wait staff is well-versed in what is available for diners with special needs. The chef and the owner are dedicated to providing good food for everyone who wishes to dine there. Unfortunately the meatballs are not GF, but the sauces are. The beet salad was plentiful and the pistachio vinaigrette was TO DIE FOR. Next time, the specialty pizzas are on my list. Generally, these are wood fired, but the chef confirmed that there is a dedicated separate oven in which GF pizzas can be baked so as to avoid any possibility of cross-contamination. Not only GF options, but dedicated kitchen equipment! It's about as close to cross-contamination free as you can get outside your own kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TMTTYRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire + Wine also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Fire + Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing