We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Home”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French Country kitchen with wet bar..... Front porch with views of the gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
French Country kitchen with wet bar.....
Front porch with views of the gardens
Front hall
Parlor
Parlor view of front gardens.....
Parlor...amazing place over looking the front grounds and the Fountain courtyard.......
Entrance hall in to Parlor........
LaCanche triple over
Library
Family room over looking the rear garden
Family room with plasma tv and surround sound..
Grand Master Suite with turett sitting room and spa...
Master Suite over looking the gront garden...
Master bath.....Irish antique with vessel sinks
The fountain courtyard is the center of the beautiful gardens and nature preserve.... relaxing sound
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carrieb19...
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Owners description was not correct”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
15
people found this review helpful

Owner appears to be more concerned about his many personal items and collections scattered all over this home than the comfort of guests. However, our primary complaint was that he overstated number of bedrooms and bedcount which made it a very uncomfortable stay, especially 2 older family members who would have liked privacy of their own room/bed. After we left we brought this to his attention and it appears that his numbers have been adjusted. However, he refused to provide any rental adjustment. Additionally, many lights did not work, kitchen sink is very clumsy to use and staircase to 2nd floor very steep and difficult to navigate even for younger guests ---not at all accessible for anyone with mobility issues.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Misrepresentation of bed count
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2012
We assure you that our #1 goal is for you to have a memorable and comfortable stay at the Davis House. All of our beds are of high quality and we use only high thread count linens. Our library which was originally a bed room can serve if needed as a 4th bed room.At the time that these guests were there one couple slept in the King bed in the master. For the other 5 guests there was 2 single beds, a queen and a full. As we are only a phone call away we have gladly brought in a hotel roll away bed to accommodate another guests. There was also 2 single Aero beds for them on the premises. Our collections are for our guests to enjoying seeing and an important part of the homes charm. Our lighting is mostly European or antiques and all of our lighting works. We do leave replacement bulbs in case they are needed. Our kitchen is quite amazing with our LaCanche triple oven stove. Our sink is great as it is a soap stone Farm sink over looking the Fountain courtyard. Our staircase is original to the house and normal for an 1892 Victorian Farm House. It has 3 landing steps and the original hand rail all the way up. To view more reviews please go to VRBO. The Davis House is an amazing place and we look forward to having as our guests!



Yours Sincerely,



William Harty,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Reviewed August 22, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Carolina
Reviewed August 16, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing