We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
135
94
25
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
94
25
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel restaurant is the pool looked nice very nice hotel visit family clean rooms easy access wedding reception coffee maker bed was very comfortable chicago area lobby ihg granite refrigerator event meeting sofa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 285 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The Crown Plaza was nice, comfortable and convenient. And it was about 1/3rd the price of staying in Downtown Chicago. Clean Rooms. Free Parking. Easy access to freeways. It was the best price we could find for a quality hotel in the greater Chicago area.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharshanie M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Hello ArizonaJT,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Crowne Plaza LOMBARD DOWNERS GROVE.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Again, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza.

Dee Munasinghe
Front Desk Supervisor


CROWNE PLAZA LOMBARD-DOWNERS GROVE
1250 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
T:630-629 -6000 F:630-629-0025​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Really nice hotel, the room was really nice with the exception of the TINY bathroom...like really tiny...European tiny...one of us would have to go to the lobby to use the restroom if anyone else was in the room.

The lobby had not been vacuumed by 9:30 a.m. after a wedding reception in in the hotel the evening before (lots of flower petals, etc).

The pool is SUPER nice! What a nice surprise.

The hotel is sort of in the middle of nowhere though, only downfall, nothing we wanted to do was nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmunasinghe2018, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Hello Barbara D,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback.I apologize for not meeting with your expectation in cleanliness in the lobby.
We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future.

Dee Munasinghe
Front Desk Supervisor


CROWNE PLAZA LOMBARD-DOWNERS GROVE
1250 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
T:630-629 -6000 F:630-629-0025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We booked through Hotwire and got lucky to secure a stay here for a wedding we were attending.
We arrived about 2:30 pm. The lady at the front desk checked us in right away. She even looked up our reward points and credited us. Great service with a smile.
Our room was across from the elevator. But as it turned out, there weren't any problems. Overall, the room itself was great. We loved our King size bed. Comfortable and cozy. Nice heavy dark curtains. The decor was thoughtful and nice looking: reading lights over bed, nicely concealed safe and refrigerator, small bedside table and sofa. There were no charging ports. Surprisingly, there also were no bottled waters.
If ever we find ourselves in this area, we wouldn't hesitant to stay here.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank open_to_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmunasinghe2018, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am happy to read your feedback was positive as we work hard for our guests
and their experience here.

Hope to see you again,

Dee Munasinghe
Front Desk Supervisor
CROWNE PLAZA LOMBARD-DOWNERS GROVE
1250 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
T:630-629 -6000 F:630-629-0025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

The lack of upkeep and general laziness so many hotels seem to have is sadly a common occurrence no matter how little or much money one spends.
This hotel has the potential to be decent with amenities such as a nice pool & hot tub area, a decent size fitness room and a highly rated attached restaurant. Unfortunately the rooms themselves are small and show their age. Mini fridge is available but no microwave. I saw the same box of open French fries by the nearly empty vending machine for 2 days, which doesn't say much for their maintenance. The first morning I went to use the fitness room it looked as though it was ransacked: no clean towels, but dirty ones thrown around hamper, no clean water cups, etc.
The one 5 star rating I can give this property is the staff; everyone I spoke with was professional and friendly.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
Thank chefstefwithanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmunasinghe2018, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate the high rating you gave to our staff service. However, I am sorry to hear your experience about the cleanliness near the microwave and in the gym.

I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

Dee Munasinghe
Front Desk Supervisor

CROWNE PLAZA LOMBARD-DOWNERS GROVE
1250 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
T:630-629 -6000 F:630-629-0025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Reuniting family members from San Francisco, NYC to Florida for a family event was so convenient at this hotel just off the highway! Welcoming, helpful staff thru out, nicely laid out full bar within a comfortable restaurant with optional breakfast buffet alcove, large conference/dinning room made it so easy to visit together before & after family events elsewhere. Very clean, comfortable rooms with very good lighting & small, well appointed baths.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank artess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharshanie M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Greetings,

It was our pleasure to host your recent stay, and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We certainly appreciate your commendation for our hotel staff and onsite restaurant. A positive guest experience is something our hotel staff takes great pride in.

Dee Munasinghe
Front Desk Supervisor

CROWNE PLAZA LOMBARD-DOWNERS GROVE
1250 Roosevelt Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
T:630-629 -6000 F:630-629-0025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews