We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush, resort feel, with modern decor and ammenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great choices near by for everything you could need, but you could choose to stay within the hotel and have everyting taken care of for you. Absolutely gerogeous modern decor, and extrememly quite. The pool is wonderful. I highly recommend this to anyone: well worth the value. Felt like a private cabana stay; extremely sound proof. Shower is graniet. Lovely! Staff very pleasant and helpful. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 272 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

I brought my son to visit Wheaton College and located this hotel on the web. It was comparably priced, but provided excellence in accommodations. A delightful weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TransplantedMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We chose this hotel specifically because it was pet friendly and appeared to be an upscale property, and we were not disappointed in either regard. We were traveling with four cats as part of a 1,000-mile move to a new city.

We stayed in a king-sized room. The room was very clean and all the furnishings were of high quality. I greatly appreciated the fact that there was no pet "fee", and you only incur pet charges if your pet causes damage. We paid no extra charges in regard to our pets.

We ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant. With the 15 percent discount for hotel guests, we paid $43 (with tip) for a beer, a cocktail and two entrees (no appetizers or dessert). The food was good but not superb. We ate there partly because there are no decent "sit-down" restaurants nearby.

We also ate at the hotel for breakfast, and I highly recommend the cornflake-crusted french toast with fresh fruit! My husband used the hotel's workout room and enjoyed the fact that the equipment was new and all of it was in working order. He did mention that it was unfortunately very warm.

Some downsides to the hotel are that you must pay for Internet access in your room ($10 a day) and the bathroom was a little small. Also, this is an urban hotel in a business-type neighborhood, so there are not any scenic views in the surrounding area.

We would definitely stay here again when traveling with our pets. It is the nicest pet-friendly hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30StatesCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This hotel offers a welcoming feel with luxurious decor and comfortable rooms. The staff are very pleasant. The onsite fitness center offers state of the art strength and cardio equipment. The onsite restaurant offers a high quality food choice and an extremely relaxing atmosphere. I stayed here for 6 weeks and absolutely LOVED it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I stayed there for 2 nights (Oct 2009). The Hotel's restaurant is beautiful and cozy, and the food deserves 5**** , specially for the awesome buttermilk pancakes.
The hotel is pretty far from O'Hare airport; it took around 40 min and USD 60,00 by taxi. But If you have some business to do within Lombard/Glen Ellyn area, I would definately recommend this hotel to you. In case you have some hours off, rent a car (or get a cab) and visit the Outlet Mall in Aurora City, which is around 20-25 miles away.
My compliments to the whole staff, which made me feel very confortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigomspinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I was looking for a special place for my husband and I to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary, and was planning a getaway up in Wisconsin, but was intrigued by this nearby new hotel and stopped in for a look. Once I took the tour, I knew I had found the perfect place for us to enjoy . The hotel was built with eco-consciousness, and it shows in many details. First and foremost, the beds and room were designed with the expertise of a sleep doctor, with incredibly comfortable beds that allowed me to sleep straight through the night. Thoughtful touches like lavender air mist, ear plugs, and eye cover are included to create a wonderful sleep environment. The room itself was spotless, and being in the "quiet zone" of the hotel, we didn't need those earplugs. We enjoyed the roomy shower with 2 large shower heads in our corner king suite. The separate tub was great and filled very fast.

The hightlight of this hotel is the exception pool constructed with exquisite materials. It is beautifully designed and set in an absolutely lovely setting. We had the pleasure of having this pool all to ourselves--very fun and relaxing.

The hotel restaurant, Glen Prarie, was great. Again stylish yet very comfortable, with a focus on great food locally and seasonally sourced. Many items including wines were organically farmed. They have been recognized in Chicago Magazine for their efforts.

I still can't believe this kind of quality place is right in my hometown (of Lombard/Glen Ellyn.) Althought it is located right on busy Roosevelt Road, once you get inside it is like you have stumbled upon an understated, refined, well thought out calming oasis.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My stay at the Crowne Plaza was outstanding. They definitely exceeded my expectations. The outside was a little disappointing. When I drove up I was wondering what I had gotten myself in to. It appeared run down and old. As soon as I walked inside, my perception immediately changed. It was very nice inside. The bar is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The added free happy hour was nice. The gym and indoor pool were perfect for me. The only things I had wished for were a microwave near the vending area and Free internet. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pudgeisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lombard
Comfort Suites Lombard
#7 of 10 in Lombard
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
1.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing