We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night's sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. It is obviously an older hotel but has been redone with very high end finishes and great design. The room was spacious although the bathroom was tight. Even so, the bathroom was newly designed to make the best possible use of the space available. We took advantage of the suggestion of another post and asked for a room away from Roosevelt and didn't hear any traffic noise or any noise for that matter. The desk staff was very professional and attentive. We had the breakfast buffet and found it average but there is also a menu that looked much better. On a weekend morning the restaurant seemed understaffed - however the wait staff were very professional and friendly. The buffet was adequate, and the fruit was better than average. The eating area was superior to most hotel breakfast bars.

We will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chardob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Chardob,

I saw your comment regarding a previous review and I am glad this helped you during your stay! I also noticed that you stated our breakfast buffet was just average. I want to let you know that we don't like average here at the Crowne Plaza and as in a previous review I have already addressed the buffet issues with my restaurant manager and chef so you can expect immediate improvement in this area. I always say that average gets noticed but quality creates loyalty and the Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers grove is about quality! I also want to thank you for the kind comments about our staff we have a great team here and it shows!

Thank you again!

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    88
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
79
32
20
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I always stay here when I come into town. The service is great and the rooms are great. The best part is the free shuttle service. Kathy is a great asset to this place. She's always on time and always friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear JoshT,

Thank you very much for always staying with us! I will pass your comments onto Kathy as well as the rest of the staff.

Regards,

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel , very good bed & bath , wonderful shower !
Nice staff.
Free parking and wi-fi .
Small but complete gym , amazing indoor pool .
Absolutely , I 'll return to this hotel in my next visit to Chicago.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Renata O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hey Renata O!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our amazing pool! Thank you for the kind comment regarding our staff and we hope to see you return soon!

Kind regards,

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Never stayed here before but it appears that it's an older hotel that's has gone through some major renovation. The outside is pretty "meh" but walk though the doors and all that changes. Outside: glass and masonry exterior, tight parking spaces, feel like you're really close to the main street. Inside: opulent, modern decor without the sounds of the rush hour traffic.

Room was VERY impressive. Super comfy king bed. Additional seating; sofa and chairs. Plenty of space for computer and paperwork needed for the business trip. Very posh bathroom decor and toiletries. Though the hallways seem a bit narrow (again, I believe this is an older hotel rehab) I was not able to hear much noise from others walking down the hallway. Large flat screen TV.

Extra points for their recycling initiative! There's a paper bag provided that you are instructed to place your recyclables inside. The first time I've ever encountered recycling like this in a hotel. Usually you can expect to be asked to conserve water by keeping your sheets and towels but this move takes them up a notch in my book.

The only thing to remember is that you are VERY close to the main street so if you're on a lower floor, remember to close the drapes before undressing or you might cause an accident on the roadway.

If you stay here, you WILL need a vehicle. Though there is shopping and restaurants nearby, it's not what I would consider a pedestrian friendly roadway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kismgby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Kismgby!

What a great thing to read that you were impressed when you walked into the hotel! I am glead that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our recycle program as we go to great lengths to try and conserve. I hope you also noticed that we offer triple filtered water on all floors and try our best to stay away from water bottles. There are cups in all the vending areas which are also completely recyclable! You may not be aware that we offer a complimentary shuttle that will take you to all the local malls and shops and while a car would be nice you can get by extremely well without one.

Thanks for the review!

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My first impression of the hotel was nice, lobby is decorated very well.

I checked in and went to my room to find no drinking water at all, refrigerator was empty and not even one water bottle in the room, After a long flight and commute to hotel first thing i has to do was to walk outside and find a place to buy water.

I guess hotels need to realize that it is a good gesture to at least offer one water bottle to guest so they don't have to run around looking for one immediately after checking in.

Room was clean, bath room was clean, hair dryers was not fitted on the wall so every time you need to use hair dryer you have to remove it from its case and plug it in.

Location is basically in middle of no where, there are couple of restaurants nearby and one supermarket is 10 mins walking distance away.

Complementary wifi was of good speed, no in room safety deposit box.

Hotel offers shuttle service within 7 miles of the hotel, I did not use this so cannot comment on it.

Decent hotel, only stay here if you have some business in this area otherwise no.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beast666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for bringing to our attention regarding the water. We have now placed water behind the front desk so upon your next visit if you would like one we have it available. The hotel is centrally located near Interstate 88, Interstate 355 toll road and Interstate 294. Only 5 minutes away is Yorktown Mall and 8 miles away is Oakbrook Mall. These malls contain movie theaters, a plethora of restaurants, Home Depot, Costco and many more. The great thing about our hotel it is all accessible by our complimentary shuttle! I hope when you visit us next time you can take advantage of our shuttle and all the businesses are has to offer.

Wishing you safe travels,

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to say, that I was pleased with the hotel. It does not have the normal Crowne Plaza look and feel, particularly as you are pulling into the driveway. On the other hand, this place really did offer the old Crowne Plaza comforts and service. The staff was friendly. The hosted happy hour was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHEAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
LHeap,

Great to hear that you liked the hosted happy hour we have Monday-Thursday nights from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm. Sounds like you enjoyed the food and drinks along with the many people who attend. I will let the staff know of your comments!

Best regards,

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I had to travel to Chicago for business. We chose this hotel based upon reviews and cost. The positive reviews had it correct. Great value for this quality hotel. You won't be disappointed. The bed was very comfortable. And a little thing that both my wife and I found very effective - a clip specifically designed to hold the curtains closed so the light won't come in in the night! We were both impressed!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quieter - but the noise from the street was a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STL-Mike-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear STL-Mike-Rose,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your wife at our hotel. Thanks for the great compliments regarding the staff and the little special things inside the guest room like the curtain clips. My staff and I look forward to your next visit so we can make you feel at home while your away from yours!

Warm regards,

CarlC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Property: Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing