We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for a short business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This property was clean and fresh. Seemed like new even if it was a remodel. King bed with a small couch and footrest gave plenty of space. Desk under a wall mounted tv was sufficient but not adequate for an extended computer work session. Solid Wifi and tv service.

Elevators were slow but that was minor. No snack shop - only vending machines. Nice touch of water containers and recyclable cups in vending area. No reasonable meeting space in the lobby for extended business chats. This is an easy to find, accommodating place to stay for a business trip. No frills but none needed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank scottjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    88
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
79
32
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

If your goal is a clean hotel and a good night's sleep, then this is the place for you. We have stayed here three times when in town for sporting events and even when the hotel has been at capacity, noise has never been an issue. Rooms are kept extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is small but having stayed at other hotels in Chicago that stage the sink/mirror outside in the room, I prefer this setup. We have eaten at the restaurant multiple times - service and food were good. And, each time, the front desk staff was helpful and very accomodating. We will continue to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLS681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff is accomodating. They have a great workout facility with a variety of equipment. The bathroom was very small - the door barely clears the edge of the toilet - and the lighting in the bathroom is very poor. The money you save on the room rate is spent on paying for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I'm so glad you enjoyed your the workout area and we really do have great team members. I understand your feedback on the bathroom and appreciate your comments. We are always working to better ourselves and our service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Clean, nicely decorated, friendly staff, great location. The price can be a little high, but if you watch over the course of a few days you will see they fluctuate with the hour and you can score a great deal (usually late on Wed nights) for your future stay. Only wish that they provided a free breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickeytricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel has clean modern rooms, a good restaurant, and is perfect for business travelers. I have spent eight nights there over the past month and had a very good experience. The restaurant opens at 6AM and there is free coffee in the lobby at the same time. M-F they have a managers reception with free wine and beer...nice touch. The restaurant has good food and service. Trudy was our waitress several evenings...she was competent and very nice. The front desk staff was excellent. Angela was extremely helpful as was everyone else I talked to there. They have a shuttle during the week. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small size but comfortable. The beds are excellent. If I could change anything I would set up coffee earlier than 6 for the folks with really early appointments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel looks stark and uncomfortable from the outside, but don't let that fool you. The furniture and color schemes seem retro at first but they have an updated ambiance that makes it interesting and soothing. The service is top-notch, and it was one of the most quiet nights I've spent in a hotel. The room is large with a coffee maker and a refrigerator. The heat and AC work well and so does the free Wi-Fi. The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of pillows and towels. There's a magnified make-up mirror in the bathroom and plenty of light - not easy to find in most hotels. And complimentary aromatherapy products to help you relax - what a wonderful touch! There's a restaurant attached to the hotel and a free breakfast buffet. This place is a real gem. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors help reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in October and it was our third experience staying there. We have always been pleased with the courtesy of those at the front desk, the clean rooms, the great breakfast, and the option of shuttle service available. We have a large family and one of our children attends Wheaton College. The hotel is convenient to the school and also to restaurants and other stores. There is also a rental car company not far away so it is easy to pick up and return your car. Our family loves many things about the Crowne: the apples at the desk, high quality toiletries, hot tea/coffee in the room, breakfast buffet, quiet rooms, and comfortable beds. We would not stay anywhere else unless the Crowne was not available!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profmom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Property: Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing