We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed for three nights on business. Clean rooms and public areas with friendly staff. Workout and pool facilities were equally clean and nicely equipped. The only negative is the breakfast buffet; lame at best with limited selection and poor quality food. The free coffee offered in the lobby area in the mornings was actual not bad for hotel coffee. However, there is always Starbucks just down the road....Hotel made for a great business trip stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, Im glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to hear from you with suggestions for how to make our breakfast offerings better. We always strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    88
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
79
32
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here with many other family members for three days. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The rooms are well appointed with many conveniences including a safe, curtains that close all the way, very comfortable bed, lots of pillows, and generous bathroom. The whole place was clean. The kids loved the pool. The staff was very courteous and helpful even with all the parties and weddings happening. I would definitely return if I am traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Suites had a pull out couch which offered lots of flexibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, Im glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a Great stay here for 7 nights over Christmas 2011 with comfortable beds in a Clean hotel. Such a relief after a bad experience elsewhere. Reasonable cost. Very pleased to have stayed here.
The hotel food was innovative and tasty. The front desk staff were always happy to help up with multiple enquirys.
Would recommend the hotel for those extra guests you don't have room for at home when visiting for the holidays.
Thanks for looking after 3 visitors from Australia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here while we were in town seeing family. The service was excellent despite how busy they were due to a local power outage and a surge of locals seeking refuge from their homes without a/c in record breaking heat. The rooms were impeccable and very comfortable. The pool was beautiful...a hot tub would've been nice, but definitely not a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNINMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Crowne and we hope to see you again the next time your in town visiting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Super clean, comfortable and convenient for business in the area. Nice pillows and comfy mattress as well. The staff is friendly and the decor is modern and in new condition.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank arielhdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the response, we appreciate your time and we look forward to having you back with us, it certainly was brutally hot outside and everyone was wonderful that stayed with us during that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My room was on the backside of the hotel - facing a courtyard. Very quiet and peaceful. The bed was super comfortable. I had work to do, so really made use of the desk area and desk chair. I also had a sofa with ottoman - very comfortable as well. It was cool despite sweltering heat.

The one thing that I had a problem with was the disastrous handling of guests checking in on July 1, 2012. When I arrived about 7:15PM there was a line. When I finally got to the desk after 2.5 hours in line the same frazzled desk clerk helped me. She seemed to be handling all the check-ins, all the calls to the front desk, all the reservation calls - and for some reason the other 2 employees I saw did not come to help her. It was taking her about 10 minutes to check in each party with all of the distractions. The crowd was the result of storms causing power outages some 7 hours earlier - plenty of notice to get some extra staff to the hotel. And, I witnessed one poor person wait through the line only to be told they had no rooms available. No general announcement was made to save other people from the same fate.

Great place in general, just once tough evening,

Room Tip: Back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsimba60137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback - I am glad that your overall staff was great. I apologize for the rough check in process. That certainly was a day that we can use to be better in the future. We look forward to having you as a return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have stayed at many hotels in the area for weddings. This one gets it right!! There were four wedding groups at the hotel, although it felt like we were the only group! Check-in was smooth and very friendly. The rehearsal dinner was held in one of the rooms off of the lobby. It was an average room, although large, with top-notch service! The bar, which would get very busy in the evenings, was efficient and the bartenders were fun! The rooms themselves are very clean and the beds very comfortable. They arranged for our entire group to be on the same floor, which was an added plus. There is an extensive breakfast menu in the restaurant, although we chose the buffet, as it offered everything and anything that you could want. The pool was great for the kids. Not freezing cold, and located in a quiet place so as not to disturb other guests. On the day of the wedding, the hotel shuttle took us to the reception nearby. The shuttle drivers were very nice, and the shuttle ran exactly on schedule! Our hosts had planned a breakfast for the morning after the wedding. It was located downstairs, and could not have been nicer. There was a great buffet and an omlet maker. Plates were quickly removed from the tables when guests were finished, and the servers kept the coffee coming. I so wish my son had chosen this hotel while planning his wedding! They really do get it right, and truly appreciate your business!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scourweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for sending us your feedback. We appreciate the business and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Property: Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing