We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost missed it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We did not find the exterior of the hotel inviting so drove around looking for other places to stay. Came back and checked in .... WE WERE THRILLED with the interior and the wonderful staff. They even put us in the Quiet Zone when I explained that I am a light sleeper. We can't wait to go back. Totally loved the desk staff and the cozy room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

I am so glad you came and decided to give us a try. We love our hotel and enjoy sharing its beauty with our guests. The staff is wonderful and as a smaller boutique hotel we feel like everyone that comes to stay with us is part of the family. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

It is a very nice property, tastefully done, and the staff was incredibly responsive. First, I had to call to find out why the a/c wasn't working well. Second, I could not get the phone to disconnect. While I was still on the phone, trying to see if the operator could help me make the phone shut off but also send the engineer to fix the a/c, someone was at the door to help me with the phone. Yeah, that's right, within less than a minute. I wanted to leave the hotel and insisted the engineer come to my room within five minutes. Yup, he got there and explained they'd had a power outage in the morning and by the time I got back to the hotel, it would be as cold as I wanted it to be. And it was! The room was very clean and the mattress seemed to be new. If you need to be in that area of the Chicago suburbs, I think it is a good location -- near highways, stores, restaurants -- and the staff was the most responsive I've come across in a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you for the great review, I apologize for the initial "troubles" but I am so glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and we certainly look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a very nice mid-priced hotel in a convenient location. This was formerly a Holiday Inn but was completely rebuilt a couple of years ago and reopened as a Crowne Plaza. Nice rooms, very clean, free Internet and friendly service. Be sure to say "hi" to Luz or Rosa if they are working when you check in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43,220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

I'm glad you have enjoyed our beautiful rebuilding, I will be sure to share your kindness with Luz and Rosa. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

i was just on the sight getting ready to plan another trip,and i read the review for rose,the last 2 times i was there i never experienced anything like another person complained about. everybody i delt with was always very nice even got some free breakfast tickets.
try this place for yourself dont listen to a person who sounds mad at life. this is the only hotel chain i stay at and i travel 25-30 times a year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Good morning Tim - Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate having you stay with us and look forward to a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Bascially I checked in and Rose Garcia the so called "Unexperienced Secretary was very rude at check in rude to other staff as well she asked me for a $500 cash deposit the des
was very messy her grooming wasnt great shes very unprofessional not classy had the desk a mess! wanted a king she gave me a double shes horrible!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharonl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihg care at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Sharonl L,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience. IHGCare^bj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed for business and found it to be Bright clean and in a good location. They have a hotel restaurant which is convenient too and manager reception with free drinks from 530 to 7pm. Rooms were nice but I found the hall ways noisy and could hear every time a door closed or even if people were talking softly.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgyguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

We appreciate your staying with us, I hope that next time your in the area you will choose the Crowne Plaza again. We have a "Quiet Zone" set aside on one of our floors. Please let me know your coming back and I can set aside a room for you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very quiet. Had a great pool for my grand neice to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabbwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your posting. I do love the pool, it is so beautiful and relaxing. A great place for a few days away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lombard
Comfort Suites Lombard
#7 of 10 in Lombard
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
1.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range: $109 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing