We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“i will be back”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

i was just on the sight getting ready to plan another trip,and i read the review for rose,the last 2 times i was there i never experienced anything like another person complained about. everybody i delt with was always very nice even got some free breakfast tickets.
try this place for yourself dont listen to a person who sounds mad at life. this is the only hotel chain i stay at and i travel 25-30 times a year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Good morning Tim - Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate having you stay with us and look forward to a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    89
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
79
33
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Bascially I checked in and Rose Garcia the so called "Unexperienced Secretary was very rude at check in rude to other staff as well she asked me for a $500 cash deposit the des
was very messy her grooming wasnt great shes very unprofessional not classy had the desk a mess! wanted a king she gave me a double shes horrible!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharonl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihg care at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Sharonl L,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience. IHGCare^bj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed for business and found it to be Bright clean and in a good location. They have a hotel restaurant which is convenient too and manager reception with free drinks from 530 to 7pm. Rooms were nice but I found the hall ways noisy and could hear every time a door closed or even if people were talking softly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgyguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We appreciate your staying with us, I hope that next time your in the area you will choose the Crowne Plaza again. We have a "Quiet Zone" set aside on one of our floors. Please let me know your coming back and I can set aside a room for you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very quiet. Had a great pool for my grand neice to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabbwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your posting. I do love the pool, it is so beautiful and relaxing. A great place for a few days away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Everything worked with this hotel. Friendly and efficient check in, plentiful safe free parking, decent restaurant (Simple but nice breakfast buffet for 14 dollars), spotless property. There's a good pool and a small exercise room that both looked good though I didn't use them. Free Internet. Room was big, clean, and the best part was that the third floor is a designated quiet floor. I never heard one peep. A sign said that housekeeping would not appear between 10:00 p.m. and 9:00 a.m. If only other hotels around the world would adopt this wise policy.

There's a good Greek Restaurant across the street where I had a fine meal.

Excellent firm, new beds. This hotel was comfortable and everything was spot on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitemountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
I'm glad you enjoyed the third floor, next time your in the area and book a reservation we would love to designate a third floor room for you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The rooms like they had been recently refreshed, and as usual with Crowne Plaza properties, the staff were top notch.
Nice clean rooms, convenient location in the west suburbs, friendly staff and worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Building itself appears to be older style from the outside, but appears to be well-decorated and generally cared for inside. Lobby area spacious and trendy, if a bit sparsely decorated. Front Desk staff was attentively though perhaps a bit frazzled. Our rooms were just down the hallway so convenient and overall seemed fairly quiet (which I was slightly concerned about considering there were offices near my room - though I think the hotel was also overall quiet). I was also pleased that I didn't hear much street traffic in spite of being on a fairly busy street.

Rooms are generally nicely decorated, though a bit on the smallish side. In the two rooms I saw, I would be hesitant putting more than 2 people into either room (though, to be fair, one of our rooms was handicap accessible so to get a large enough bathroom you lose some bedroom space). Nice touches to the rooms include laptop-sized in-room safes and small refrigerators. I also liked the coffeemakers which allow you to make just one or two cups if that's all you desire. Bathrooms were well appointed and well decorated. Shower was nice and strong

I was able to sleep on the bed with relatively comfortable pillows, though the bed itself was a bit firm for my taste.

Perhaps on the downside is just tiny things that gave a slightly "unpolished" feel - we had two rooms and one of them had a connecting door. Our second room wasn't the connected one and, while the Front Desk was happy to move me there, I didn't get that room as the lock wouldn't work properly. Front Desk gave me the impression this was an ongoing problem. Layout of the room also, perhaps given the smallish size, was perfectly conducive to everything you might want to do in a room. Phones in room, which were cordless (and I'm not sure cordless is all that necessary in a hotel room), worked okay but "didn't feel right" - it's being a bit difficult to put my finger on exactly my concern, just that something felt a tiny bit off.

Neighborhood seemed safe and served my purposes fine, but clearly a residential area with little tourist reason to stay. I also didn't get the feeling this could be a "business" hotel as I didn't see much in the way of large businesses that might have need in the area - some local retail, a KMart, etc. Again, very residential geared to the point of wondering why there is a need for a hotel in such an area. That said, again it seemed quite safe.

Exercise room, while I got lazy and didn't partake, looked pretty decent - especially for a hotel. Cardio plus some weights, both machine and free weight.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
1.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Property: Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing