We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sports Bar with an outdoor Patio for family dining”
Review of Tap House Grill - CLOSED

Tap House Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Sports Bar with an outdoor Patio for family dining”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A unique outdoor area that is great for families. Not what you usually associate with a "Tap House" . Reasonable prices. Angus beef is the standard strongly suggest to save room for the warm fresh donuts and chocolate sauce for a special desert.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jezeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glen ellyn, il
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loud, but good”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The menu has been reworked with the change in owners, and is very tasty. The nachos are different but surprisingly good. Only problem is it can be very loud in there, and sometimes the bar fills up. Good little neighborhood joint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Find!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My black and tan was perfect, the "bar food" was surprisingly good and our waitress was SPECTACULAR! I wish I could remember her name. If the proprietor reads this note and contacts me, I will tell you exactly when, time and specifics we visited. In short, our party went to Tap House because it was the only place open late on a Friday night, we had just been through a very long, joyful (but stressful) event, and needed to unwind. The Tap House was brilliant. It was exactly what we needed and they treated us so well. Although most of the bar food -- like the nachos -- was quite good, the sandwiches were actually really good. If I ever find myself in Glen Ellyn again, I would absolutely go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yucatenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice addition to highwood rest. scene”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We visited their Highwood, Il. location.
this last Sat. (10/15/11) was our second visit to this jumpin place.

We arrived before 8 and we were sat immediatly. our table faced multiple TV screens. We asked the server to change the closest TV to the baseball playoffs. he accomidated us immediatly. He was attentive but did not rush us at all.

My wife had the shrimp tacos. she asked that they be blackened. again, very accomidating. i asked about one of the specials. it was BBQ brisket. he responded," if you love BBQ this is a must" he was spot on! the brisket was great. as good as many places that call themselves bbq joints.

We were insure as to our beer selections. The server was more than happy to bring a couple of samples.

Last time we visited there were 4 of us. We all enjoyed our meals. This time was no exception. They offer a wide variety of items. they provide good service and the place has a good atmosphere.

The only complaint i could have is that it is REALLY loud. whatever, not the end of the world. they also have daily specials, which is nice.

This place merits a visit, or a few visits!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place In Downtown”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Tap House Grill is wonderful. This is the place the locals hang out. They have a very good selection of draft and bottled beer, great bar food, and wonderful staff.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eur0_travels_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap House Grill also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing