We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Carbon
Certificate of Excellence
Collinsville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Travelers beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently stayed at this location. Two vehichles were broken into, one of them being mine.
There are NO security cameras on the premises. According to a reliable source, this happens at this location every few months. The lock on the driver's door was removed, and since this is a mobility conversion van, the television was taken. The other vehichle was a Nissan truck with a camper shell. Broke out the driver's side window. Without security cameras, the police have nothing to go on. Police swiped for finger prints, but unfortunately, were not able to capture any.
While this hotel is an okay place to stay, due to the fact that there are no security cameras, and according to the hotel manager, they cannot afford to have cameras installed, doesn't feel they are necessary, I will no longer be staying at this location. Yes, this could have happened anywhere, however, I strongly feel if security cameras were in place, the police would have something to assist them in trying to catch these thieves. I stayed at this location for 7 nights, and was not offered anything in compensation. NOT that I was expecting anything, I do know that the owners of the nissan truck, were not charged for their one night stay. 10/13/2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbed10122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGC, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We sincerely regret your unfortunate experience while staying here. As was mentioned in our follow-up, you were misinformed with regards to reoccurring incidents here. Since opening in September 2007 this is the 2nd time we’ve had anything like this has happen. The parking lot is well lit and frequently patrolled by local police. We strive to provide a safe and secure place for our guests and take all necessary and appropriate steps to ensure that we manage the variables we can control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    80
    16
    12
    3
See reviews for
98
35
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, great room good breakfast, would stay again and reccommend to anyone
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra-lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I do business near this area, and thought I would try this hotel out since I had not stayed here before and the Doubletree I normally stay at was sold out. The property seems somewhat new, and it was very clean. The furniture did not seem as updated as most of the Hampton's I stay at, but that's not really a big deal. It is kind of in an odd location as it's about 5 miles away from the restaurants in the area. I got to breakfast a little late, close to 10am and there wasn't much left which was a little disappointing. Overall, the hotel was okay, but for a lower price and nicer, more updated rooms, I would stay at the Doubletree five miles down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauionmymind08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here a number of times. Always clean & quiet. New hotel, good exercise room & pool. Less than 1/4 mile from hwy 270. Decent breakfast, competent staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyovermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
353 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This property appears to be very new. Beautiful building inside and out. The King room was very large as well as the bathroom. Carpet and linens all appeared to be new and fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful. The was a large and varied breakfast selection. Quiet property off the highway.

Room Tip: This property is away from the interstate and major highway. None of the rooms are affected by high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were in Edwardsville for one night visiting family. We have made previous trips but decided to try some place new. The hotel seems fairly new and was sparkling clean and nicely decorated. We had a king room on the 1st floor. We could hear conversations from neighboring rooms and some little footsteps above. Neither went on too late and didn't really disturb our sleep. What did disturb our sleep were the fire alarms that went off around 4:30 a.m. After 10 sec. or so, they stopped. A few minutes later they went off again and stopped. After the THIRD time I called the front desk. As we suspected it was a malfunction caused by humidity in the pool area when the overnight temps dipped too low. It seems like this is a recurring problem they were aware of. Seems they should take steps to correct it. Since we were basically only there to sleep, being awakened at that hour didn't make us too happy. We checked out the next morning and mentioned it (nicely) to the desk clerk. She was very nice and ended up giving us a gift certificate to cover 1 night to be used on our next visit. She also offered to comp that night but we opted to use it for another visit. All in all, a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor - they might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsnefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is not a very well-known hotel, and you can't find it on GPS because the road it's on is its driveway...anyway, we had fun. They keep coffee and hot cocoa in the lobby which also has a fire in the fireplace and a huge TV and comfy couches. We chilled there for hours :) You can use the computer for free. The pool is wonderful, the hot tub is awesome. The staff is super friendly. After staying there for 2 days we were bestfriends with all of them. Also, there's an exercise room, so it's cool. Oh, and there's a snack bar and vending machines on every floor. :D

Room Tip: 3rd floor, west side rooms are the best. You can see the St. Louis arch and they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiudneiwxw n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Carbon
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edwardsville
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Edwardsville
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Hampton Inn Collinsville
#5 of 11 in Collinsville
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.8 mi away
Drury Inn Collinsville
Drury Inn Collinsville
#1 of 11 in Collinsville
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville
Address: 5723 Heritage Crossing Dr, Glen Carbon, IL 62034-1169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Glen Carbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Carbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville hotel. Just 15 miles from the center of downtown St. Louis, our Edwardsville-Glen Carbon hotel offers the perfect blend of big-city style and comfortable small-town charm. Explore 85 miles of beautiful biking trails or discover sporting venues such as the Gateway International Raceway. Your stay includes free breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville Hotel Glen Carbon
Hampton Inn Glen Carbon
Glen Carbon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing