We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK HOTEL”
Review of Super 8 Gilman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gilman
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gilman
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Looking for a place to get a few hours sleep on a long road trip. This hotel is not near anything but I-54 as far as I can tell. Mostly farmland around it with a couple of gas stations and restaurant. Check in was friendly. Room was reasonably clean and smelled OK. Looked like their primary guests were working men (railroad workers, highway workers, etc.) Only room available was one with 2 queen beds, so the $70 rate was a bit more than I usually pay at Super 8 as a solo traveler. Furniture was inexpensive but adequate. Had fridge, microwave, iron, board, etc. Room was large. Hotel is about one block from railroad tracks and crossing and I heard trains a couple of time during the night. Also like most inexpensive hotels the wall are thin so you get some noise from adjoining rooms, although the other guests were quiet by bedtime.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2010

The desk clerk was pleasant, the room was clean and spacious and it's convenient to the interstate. Overall, a good value. The only drawback was that it's located very close to the railroad tracks, and I got awakened a couple of times during the night by a train blowing its whistle as it rumbled past. If you're not a sound sleeper, you might bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illin0isguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

ask for AARP discount, was told $69. 00 per night for two adults was their best price. To make matters worse, no hot water in shower. They denied there was a hot water problem in room. Someone did come and check. I was told all rooms were booked, they would fix the problem the next day. We went to sleep dirty after driving all day. The repairs were make at 10 am the next day. I asked for a late check out. I was told 11:00 was check out. I could only stay 30 min more. until 11:30 am. I will never return . We stayed for 6 days in Chicago, the previous days . Cleaner, friendlier, and cheaper: and plenty of hot water. Danyal

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amoresperos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Very clean room and bathroom. Furniture in good condition. Overall a good place to crash for the night on the highway. No problems. Though nothing special either.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DadToThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilman
13.3 mi away
Super 8 Watseka
Super 8 Watseka
#1 of 1 in Watseka
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Gilman
Motel 6 Gilman
#2 of 3 in Gilman
31 reviews
21.5 mi away
Paxton Inn Motel
Paxton Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Paxton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn Gilman
Budget Host Inn Gilman
#3 of 3 in Gilman
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gilman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gilman

Address: 1301 S Crescent St, Gilman, IL 60938-6128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Gilman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gilman
Price Range: $55 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gilman 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Gilman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gilman
Gilman Super 8
Gilman Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing