We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing range of reviews!”
Review of Niche

Niche
Reserve with OpenTable
Niche is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 148 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Rt 38 and James St.
Transit: The Metra train station in Geneva is located 5 blocks South of Niche on Third street. This is one of the more relaxing ways to travel to Geneva from Chicago, and a short walk away from the best dining Geneva has to offer.
Currently Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Amazing range of reviews!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I wasn't quite sure what to think before I went. Don't often see such a wide range of reviews. I'm guessing this place is either really on or really off. Unfortunately for our party it was really off. But regardless of whether you're on or off nothing could explain my lobster bisque which arrived, literally, with a very small assortment of minced lobster and reportedly crawfish in the bottom of the bowl onto which one poured the bisque. My scallops were grilled correctly but arrived just barely warm. The salads are ridiculous... About $3 for each of the 3 little greens. This place is minimalist to be sure... Except for the prices. For me,the service was slow, obsequious and intrusive. In nice restaurants I prefer the service that is so good you don't even notice it. Not so here. I'm glad so many people had a great experience but, personally, I won't even give them a 2nd chance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpackluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I ate in April and what a meal! We were a table of 10 and everyones dish was amazing.from appeitzers to the the dessert it was perfection.The flavors, the presentation just superb.
The service,top notch! I will return

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good, although not in an international class”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The interior is sober and attractive and does not detract from the food. Service is prompt, courteous and unpretentious. The bread is a trifle sweet and a French or Italian style was not offered. Tastes are above average. Portions are a bit small. The duck breast was tender and served appropriately pink in the center. Vegetables are missing from the courses which we were served. A shrimp appetizer could have included more than a couple of mouthfuls of polenta. The wine list is extensive. Overall, one can recommend it but a bit more perfection would be desirable for the price.

Helpful?
Thank SnapDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

A recent remodelling has warmed the atmosphere of this intimate restaurant just off the main drag in Geneva. Reservations are a must on weekends and holidays, and this is a don't miss for short visits. Wine list is extensive, and daily specials worth a try. It is an ecclectic, current menu in the new American tradition.

Helpful?
1 Thank uilaw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
650 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Amazing and seductive - in the heart of Geneva”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Simple yet elegant - food. Staff remarkable. A gem!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niche also viewed

 

Been to Niche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing