We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is worth the drive”

Riganato Old World Grille
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is worth the drive”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Seriously guys this place is the best!!!

I know there's a couple of not so great reviews about this spot but trust me don't believe them.

If you want great authentic Italian food this is the spot to come get it at, and it gets better -they are not over priced.

They have great customer service. Jimmy is great!

Ok so lets get down to the food. I've been here three times since I discovered this gem and I've yet to be disappointed by anything that's been served.

Spaghetti and meatballs -to die for!!! I've ordered this all three times. Today they had a special with one meatball, Italian sausage, and penne pasta. My boyfriend loved it so much he asked our server to please keep this on the menu permanently! Lol

Lamb chops and chicken- I've never been to crazy about lamb chops
but these were awesomely delicious! Chicken was juicy and flavorful.

Gnocchi is rich and a must try!

Pizza by far the best pizza I've ever had ( no lie) seriously this is the perfect pizza - the crust is so crispy and the sauce is just the perfect flavor!

Hmmmmm.... What else.... Oh yea their bread they bring out at the beginning of dinner I can't even describe other than perfect. However be careful , it's so delicious that you may end up filling up on it!

Calamari and saganaki are our favorite appetizers .

So yea I obviously will definitely be coming back to this place as long as they are in business. If your a fan of great food and awesome friendly service this is a place you definitely want to go to! I know there's a couple of reviews that weren't all that great but who knows what really happened . Give this place a try you won't regret it !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Ast_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great new find in Geneva!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although they opened last year, we did not discover this place until right after the holidays. It has become our new favorite place!!!! Jimmy and his dad (nick?) are very nice, and want to make sure everything is excellent! We eat there almost weekly now; since we are a busy professional working couple. Chicken riganoto is wonderful, with roasted potatoes. Our son had the pork tenderloin which was fabulous! On another visit ( he loves all food and is willing to try anything) he had a rack of lamb for the first time, and loved it! I have to confess- only had lamb one other time in my life- this definitely tasted better, but I showed a lamb in 4-H, so it not a favorite with me!! My husband has had the rib-eye kebab, very good! Small individual pizza was great too! We also enjoyed the Calamari. Stuffed meatball is great too- although it was a tad " medium" last time- I like all ground beef well done. I actually can't believe that prior REALLY negative review! Hard to believe! Nice selection of home-made desserts, IF you have room!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italian Excellence”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

On a visit from out of town, we were looking for dinner and found Riganato's on Trip Advisor. Wow! We had a short wait for a table - 20 min on a Friday night - and they were unnecessarily apologetic. The dining room was cozy but not crowded. We started off with the meatball appetizer which comes with a delightful, light marinara sauce, perfect for dipping the warm, crusty bread. We tried three different Italian dishes - garlic-cheese totellini in a cream sauce, spicy penne with sausage, and arichoke pesto pizza - and all were fantastic. Fresh, with clean flavors, not too heavy, delicious! We ended with the not-too-sweet rice pudding and delicate tiramisu. Our server, and really all the employees, were friendly and checked in with us to make sure everything was good without intruding. If only we lived closer, we'd be here every weekend! The only negative - no espresso. The Italian food was the quality of a fine restaurant - I don't know why anyone would order a burger!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sues87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
2 reviews
“Appetizing Mussels”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having a birthday dinner with our granddaughter, we were awaiting her arrival and ordered the fresh steamed mussel appetizer. Excellent presentation and a good amount of mussels and broth. The taste was exceptional with a subtle flavor of garlic and shallots with plenty of crostini to sop up the broth. Better mussels than we have had in Florida. Keep them on the menu - we will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

A quaint little restaurant with an energized atmosphere.
Great selection on the menu.
Portions are a little on the light side but so is the price.
I will go back to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riganato Old World Grille also viewed

 

Been to Riganato Old World Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing