We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with excellent service!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Herrington for a New Year's getaway, and it was absolutely perfect! The rooms are huge and we had a gorgeous fireplace and beautiful view of the river. I could sit by the fireplace with that view all day. We had a delicious dinner, during which the chef substituted the "turf" part of my dish for double "surf," as i am a pescetarian--two lobster tails! The bathroom was my absolute favorite with the giant jacuzzi tub and heated floor.

Service was impeccable. I ordered a special mud bath and it was brought up almost immediately. And nothing beats the chocolate chip cookies at turn down! Absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a fireplace and gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gildasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Absolute perfection is where we aim, it’s great to hear you feel we accomplished this throughout your stay. We shall have extra cookies and mud ready for your return.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    56
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
47
225
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Have stayed at the Herrington Inn 3 times. Each time I had a beautiful room overlooking the water. The rooms are beautiful with fireplace, 4 poster beds, beautiful bathrooms and patio. The alfresco dining in the summer is great. The last time I stayed there was a festival in the town with bands, side walk sells, food trucks, etc.. It was fun to walk around! I have used the spa only once and it was nice. Being there on business all 3 times, left me little time to really enjoy the amenitites the hotel offers. The front desk staff could be a little friendlier. Geneva is a nice little town about 40 minutes from Chicago O'hare airport. Would definately stay there again, Perfect place for a girls getaway for a weekend of fun and spa treatments!

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the water on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Our alfresco dinning patio is once again open, we just need the weather to cooperate!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary over the weekend. And while we enjoyed our stay we were both a bit disappointed.

Positives:
Quaint lobby and friendly front desk.
Large clean rooms.
Very large bathroom with heated floors and large Jacuzzi tub
Atwaters restaurant served very nice food at a decent price for the value.

Negatives:
We pre-ordered chocolate covered strawberries and also a wine and cheese platter to be delivered to our room. When it arrived there was no wine and no napkins or silverware. At first I noticed the wine missing and then later had to call for the silverware (not sure how to spread cheese on my cracker without a knife?) The front desk was very apologetic; however, considering it was an error on their part I would have expected a quick correction. It took about 15-20 minutes to get the wine; however, I would have expected it much sooner being that this is a small hotel. For a $72 ‘snack’ I expected better service and attention to detail.

When checking out, the hotel charged us twice for the cheese tray. I’m not quite sure how this could have happened being that we pre-paid for our room and extra amenities prior to our arrival. This tells me that someone went into the system after we arrived to add this on (perhaps when we called down to ask for silverware?). It was resolved; however, I was again disappointed and felt inconvenienced.

The Atwaters restaurant was very nice. Small and quaint. We ate there for both dinner and breakfast. However, after having our server recommend a bottle of wine we were later told they were out of it. Unfortunate for a restaurant that boasts an extensive wine list. After our meal we ordered cappuccinos only to find out that the machine was out of order.

The furniture is a bit outdated but added to the uniqueness of the room. Hallway carpets looked pieced together and need to be replaced. I would consider staying there again at a discounted rate but would shift my expectations a bit. My expectations were initially aligned with the four-diamond rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

I can only apologize for the error and delay in both charging and delivering for the pre-ordered amenities, please be assured this has been addressed and additional training delivered. Our wine list is changed continually to bring our guests an eclectic and interesting variety. I apologize that on this occasion your initial choice was unavailable and trust our Sommelier was able to recommend a suitable alternative.

I will ensure all of your feedback is shared with the departments concerned and corrections made where needed.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've been for the second time there for business purposes. The hotel is really nice and well located on the banks of the Fox river. My room had a fantastic fireplace and bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel has a vary good restaurant (Atwaters) where I had a couple of gorgeous dinners. You can walk in few minutes to downtown Geneva or rent a bike or hike along the Fox river track. I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Perfect is what they all aim for!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The place is charming, hour drive to city. Stayed for weekend. The restaurant has a limited menu, not our taste. The furniture in restaurant was tattered. Rooms were nice size, if you have small children ground floors that back up to river is not suggested. Drop off directly into river. Otherwise old world charm.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bikerchickee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

I am concerned over the ‘limited menu’ you may have been presented with and would very much like to discuss this with you. We have several menus available and a very adaptable kitchen brigade who are happy to prepare any items we have. At your convenience please contact me at the Hotel so I may investigate fully.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinley park, il
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday and loved it. It is walking distance to many shops and restaurants and overlooks the lake. It's so charming and quaint. The staff was extremely friendly and our room was beyond expectations. It was clean with a comfy king size bed, a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and awesome turn down service. There is complimentary transportation to shopping or restaurants. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end of the second floor which was nice and quiet and the balcony was overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorim585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Herrington recently and found the accomodatons to be quite charming and cozy, complete with in room fireplaces and hot tub baths...to the rustic interiors and fine dining at Atwoods restaurant...Geneva is a cool little town...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dggsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
140 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
156 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing