We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Italy
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've been for the second time there for business purposes. The hotel is really nice and well located on the banks of the Fox river. My room had a fantastic fireplace and bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel has a vary good restaurant (Atwaters) where I had a couple of gorgeous dinners. You can walk in few minutes to downtown Geneva or rent a bike or hike along the Fox river track. I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Perfect is what they all aim for!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    57
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
225
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The place is charming, hour drive to city. Stayed for weekend. The restaurant has a limited menu, not our taste. The furniture in restaurant was tattered. Rooms were nice size, if you have small children ground floors that back up to river is not suggested. Drop off directly into river. Otherwise old world charm.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bikerchickee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

I am concerned over the ‘limited menu’ you may have been presented with and would very much like to discuss this with you. We have several menus available and a very adaptable kitchen brigade who are happy to prepare any items we have. At your convenience please contact me at the Hotel so I may investigate fully.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinley park, il
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday and loved it. It is walking distance to many shops and restaurants and overlooks the lake. It's so charming and quaint. The staff was extremely friendly and our room was beyond expectations. It was clean with a comfy king size bed, a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and awesome turn down service. There is complimentary transportation to shopping or restaurants. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end of the second floor which was nice and quiet and the balcony was overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorim585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Herrington recently and found the accomodatons to be quite charming and cozy, complete with in room fireplaces and hot tub baths...to the rustic interiors and fine dining at Atwoods restaurant...Geneva is a cool little town...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dggsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place is amazing! We went for an overnight get away for my Mom's 65th birthday. There were 4 of us girls. We ate lunch at the restaurant in the hotel which was fabulous! Very high quality food. We also had excellent services-the drivers took us all over Geneva to shop. The men who drove us were so kind! The cookies and milk and bathrobes was such a nice touch. The spa far exceeded my expectations. It was the best Swedish massage that I have EVER gotten! Then to give us tea and set us in a warm relaxed room after we got the massages was such a nice touch. We also brought a chick flick to watch and they were kind enough to lend us a DVD player! The weekend could not have been more perfect to celebrate my Mother!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_IllinoisJjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Very pleased that all the elements of your stay exceeded your expectations! Please pass our congratulations and birthday wishes on to ‘Mom’

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Five of us went to celebrate a 50th birthday this past weekend. From the moment we were picked up at the Metra station to the next day when we left, the service was all around exceptional. We did a day full of spa treatments on Saturday, all of us having had wonderful services. The rooms have beautiful views and the fireplaces are a nice add on. The cookies and milk at turn down was a great touch. The bathrooms are large and well thought out.

We opted to have dinner off property, but the on duty drivers were happy to drive us there and pick us up, which is a great service to provide.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you for celebrating with us and please pass on our birthday greetings!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Barrington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Herrington. Everything was perfect!! 1. Cozy room with fireplace. 2. beautiful view of the river 3. pick up service after a fabulous meal at Wildwood. 4. turn down bed service with cookies, milk,and robes & slippers laid out. 5. Continental breakfast. 6. Spa massage just steps away. We really enjoyed strolling through town too. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

We shall endeavor to give you another 6 great reasons to visit again on your next vist!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
475 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#1 of 18 in Naperville
432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing