We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Herrington numerous time since 2004 (12-15 times). The first few years, we felt that this was the best hotel in Chicagoland. It was our romantic get-away. The last few times we have stayed, we began seeing things start to go down hill (stains on carpets, loose faucets, broken floor tiles in the bathroom, the potpourri was at least 5 years old, tube TV, etc.) When we stayed in January 2013 it was obvious that someone had laid on our bed prior to us entering. they said the were training the housekeeping staff. This last time, November 23, 2013 was our last trip. We walked into the room and did our normal sweep and in the bathroom there was lingerie hanging on the bathroom door from the last people that had the room!! Disgusting! We started looking around the room and there were cobwebs all over the ceiling, the four poster bed was full of dust and the carpet had un-identifiable stains. There was a chunk out of the corner of the wall and holes where something used to be hanging. It makes one wonder what they are cleaning. How can you miss lingerie hanging on the back of the door? Then to top it off, the now have a "Passion Kit" as part of their wet bar. It is beginning to resemble a rent by the hour place. I expressed my concerns to management and apparently they are willing to lose me as a customer. This place costs $250+ a night! I think a $50 a night place would be cleaner. Save your money and go to a Hampton!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

Firstly, please allow me to apologize once again for the issues encountered regarding the previous guest’s item and the wall damage you experienced in your room upon arrival.
We at the Herrington Inn & Spa have always had and continue to have the highest expectations from our housekeeping department. As discussed during your stay our executive housekeeper was advised and immediate action was taken both to rectify and prevent a repeat of this below par service occurring again.

Our wet bar stock caters to a wide spectrum of guests, from our corporate clientele to those celebrating their wedding night. It is unfortunate that some items have caused you offense, of course should you return to the Herrington Inn & Spa we will be more than happy to remove any items you feel inappropriate prior to your arrival.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 402 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Seeking a private retreat and an evening "just the two of us," we booked at room at the Herrington Inn. The bathroom is incredibly luxurious and we enjoyed sitting at the fireside and reading to each other. The milk and cookies was a fun little add-on, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The cons to our stay were mostly that the room we were given was far from the service desk...up three flights of stairs and along the back of the building. Quiet, yes. Easy to get our luggage to, no. We were also slightly disappointed that it was a 2-person BATH...no jets. The rain shower made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just_me_wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us.

I would be interested to know in which room you stayed. If you could contact me at the hotel at your convenience.

Kindest Regards & Happy Holidays

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked this location as we attended a wedding reception directly across the street. The Herrington had a good amount of difficulty getting the reservations for the wedding block set up and we had to confirm and fix reservations and number of times but in the end the hotel figured it out. Rooms were a little on the high side for what we got but the location couldn't be beat for us. Night time cookies and milk were a very nice touch. Balconies had an excellent view of the review and a beautiful courtyard for our room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

I apologize for the difficulties you experienced during the reservation process. I trust this did not create any inconvenience on the special day. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel should you wish to discuss the matter.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Every one of the staff I'd encounter asked me how my day was going and if there was anything I needed. It's rare that you get this level of customer service. They gave us a ride to and from dinner but you can also walk to many restaurants and shops. We had a 1st floor room with a great view of the river, which is literally a few yards from your balcony. The cookies and milk of course are a nice touch. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammerhd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We enjoyed the delicious milk and cookies in the evening by our fireplace in our white robes in the room. The decorations can be a bit old fashioned, but the bathrooms are definitely luxuriously modern. Delicious breakfast of fruit, cheese, cured meats, tea, and coffee. The breakfast reminded us of our stays in Mexico. A stroll in island park after breakfast and along the river was the perfect way to end the stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MosaicDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

As the nights draw in and temperatures drop our Milk, Cookies, Robes and Fireplaces seem to becoming ever more popular! They will await your return.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this as I sit on my balcony enjoying the beautiful Fox River. The staff here are so friendly, they treat each guest like a VIP. The room was cozy and relaxing. We ordered a bath basket from the spa which was a wonderful in-room way to feel pampered. We did have breakfast at Atwater's. The food was delicious and the staff friendly and attentive. We plan on coming here again. This is a wonderful place to get away from everyday life.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misnjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We strive to give every guest the VIP experience, a home away from home and the surroundings to forget about the world outside. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. The in room Bath Menu always helps!

I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

For the past two years I travelled on business to Geneva, staying at this charming hotel. This past trip, booked for pleasure 3 day weekend really disappointed. I booked a premium, river south facing room. I was given a corner room "118" on the back of the hotel, overlooking the parking lot and the private home next door. There is a bit of river view from a corner window. In addition, two large exhaust fans are outside my parking lot windows. I called the front deck and was informed despite the price I was placed in the correct room category. No offer to change despite my repeated dissatisfaction with the room. As I loyal, repeat customer I'm baffled. This hotel let me down.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your latest stay with us.

In response to your feedback we have altered this particular room’s classification to ensure your disappointment is not experienced by any other guests.

I do hope the remainder of your stay in the alternate room was closer to your expectations.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back and regaining your trust in The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#2 of 18 in Naperville
444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
491 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $167 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing