We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicagoans with a vacation in Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chicagoans with a vacation in Geneva”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We live in downtown Chicago and visit Geneva often for family and shopping and stayed one night at the Herrington Inn and Spa. The Inn is very classy and nicely located along the fox river. Our room had a (very) small terrace/balcony over the river, but the bugs outside did not allow us to enjoy it. What I loved--the hotel is walking distance to downtown Geneva and her restaurants (favorite=Niche), the hotel was very clean, the room was spacious. What I didn't love--the style was comfortable but getting a little towards the kitchy B&B, the included breakfast was shameful, and the $4 Desani bottled water as part of the minibar. I've stayed at many luxurious resorts and I'm accustomed to simple things like bottled water being included in the stay for guests' comfort. If it's a fancy Voss water or something I can see the minibar offer and charge but I think the Herrington can offer Desani complimentary without going under. Don't nickel and dime high end patrons. Overall good stay though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    57
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
227
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here last night and I was already writing the review in my head, giving it 4 stars. It's a very nice inn, and yes, there are bugs outside and it's a bit noisy sitting outside near the river due to the traffic close by. By, by and large, it was very nice. Able to check in early, large room, lovely bathroom with heated floors, milk and cookies in the evening, etc.

However, at 7:00 PM the fire alarms went off in the entire hotel. We gathered up our valuables and went to the lobby expecting to hear what was going on. Other guest were likewise standing around and going outside. Several members of the staff, however, were standing in a group talking amongst themselves. When I approached and asked what was going on, one of them said, "oh it's just a false alarm". No instructions, no apology, no explanations. Nothing. Finally the fire dept. came and silenced the alarms. People then wandered back in and back to their rooms. It seems to me that the guests should have immediately been told what to do and not have to figure it out for ourselves. Inexcusable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dezinerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weslog, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Although the false alarm had been confirmed you are absolutely correct that our lack of communication was unacceptable. I am extremely sorry for the perception that we took the situation lightly as well as the inconvenience of being disturbed.

I assure you that we are using this situation as a training opportunity and that we will not less this happen again.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problem.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I went for two nights as a last minute getaway. The Inn is beautiful and we appreciated the ride to and from the Metra so we didn’t have to drive to and from Geneva.

We were in a river room and enjoyed the break from the city. We were able to watch herons and egrets as well as an occasional jumping fish. Our room was very near the spa entrance and we had no issues with sound or noise. The bed was comfy and the air conditioning worked. We didn’t use the fireplace as we were there in August. We loved the milk and cookies. We did find our room a little dark, but that’s too be expected with the old, thick walls. All in all, the room was romantic, peaceful, and lovely.

But, I wish the Inn was a little more focused on customer needs and less on the almighty dollar. For example, there is nowhere nearby to get a Diet Coke or other quick snacks. The bar serves Pepsi. In the room, there is an overpriced mini bar refrigerator. I actually ended up opening a very expired Diet Pepsi and asked to have the cost removed from my bill when I realized how dated it was. They said they would, but it showed up anyway. I didn’t bother to call to fix it. It is just too expensive of a place to be nickle and dimed this way.

The reviews about the towels are correct. They are thin and a couple only receives three big ones. Considering there’s a jetted tub in the room, one would think there’d be more towels.

On our second night, I planned to use the tub, but the jets didn’t work. It was too late to get the tub fixed before we departed, so we didn’t enjoy that feature of the room either.

We’ll probably go back again when we need a break from the city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank revephemeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at Herrington Inn in September for a wedding. This is an absolutely gorgeous bed and breakfast. From check-in to check-out everyone and everything was amazing and friendly. We had actually arrived early and the hotel was wonderful in accommodating our request for an early check-in. Our room was perfect, from the decor to the amenities. Each room is different, in subtle ways from the bedding to the décor on the walls but each room feels cozy and not like you’re at a hotel without personality. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. As well as when we stopped in the bar to have a glass of wine the bartender gave a great recommendation for the afternoon. The hotel is located in perfect spot to be able to just park your car and explore Geneva. We were there the weekend of the Geneva Wine Festival and had a great time exploring the shops and restaurants of downtown Geneva.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

LARGE rooms overlooking Fox River. Easy access to Fox River path and Geneva shopping and dining. Used to be a creamery in the old days so to pay tribute, 2 large chocolate chip cookies and 2 carafes of fresh milk are delivered each evening. European brunch each morning.

Room Tip: Room 110 is our favorite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyMaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
A sincere thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Geneva and at the hotel, and look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Herrington is a true Boutique specialty hotel. It is right on the beautiful Fox River in Geneva, Illinois. It overlooks Island Park, the Geneva Dam and the bridge.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered in the lobby. Parking is free and you can walk to just about any downtown location in minutes. This is a true find that everyone should enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a River Front Room. It is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience at The Herrington, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although we live only an hour away, we feel like we are on a vacation when we stay here. The rooms are beautiful, the restaurant is top notch and the town of Geneva is welcoming. I highly recommend the Herrington.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We're so glad you love it, and completely agree; many of our guests comment about feeling much further away than they really are when they are here because of our special surroundings and location on the water. We hope you come back every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
479 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
136 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#1 of 18 in Naperville
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing