We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, world class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Herrington Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, world class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Herrington is a hotel that could be found in any major international city. I'm so happy that it's in Geneva, Illinois! The rooms are outstanding! Heated bathroom floors, fireplaces, amazing views. Truly a 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope you return soon.

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    54
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
47
218
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Last winter I flew to Chicago to attend a 3 day seminar that is normally held at another hotel but because of a scheduling conflict, it was held at the Herrington. My focus was all about the seminar, the hotel was completely incidental. Well, to grab a famous line from the movie Dirty Dancing, nobody puts the Herrington in the corner!

The room I had was absolutely gorgeous -- a large, sinfully soft four-poster bed that I actually had to climb UP into; sumptuous decorations in warm, homey colors; a large working fireplace; and a beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The in-house restaurant served excellent light fare; there were always friendly patrons at the cozy bar and then, as if they needed to do more, every night freshly baked chocolate chip cookies (made by God?!) were left in the room. The Herrington proved to be such an all-around favorite with all the seminar participants that we requested we meet here again this year! A perfect example of the rewards of good service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LateNightUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I hope you have a reason to return. Thank you for the great feedback.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent our 10th wedding anniversary at the Herrington, as it was the same place that we spent our wedding night. The hotel staff was superior in that they were able to place us in our SAME room where we spent our wedding night, they provided us with small cards of congratulations on our anniversary, both in our room, and at dinner in the hotel (Atwater's...DELICIOUS!), and a small plate of truffels in our room which were delicious. The staff there is always beyond nice, the rooms are spotless, and the complimentary breakfast in the lobby every morning is scrumptious. We did not use their spa services, but were told by other guests that they were excellent.

We stayed for two nights on a Friday and Saturday for a room rate of $169 (excluding taxes). A nice dinner sans alcohol is a little pricey at around $75 for a couple, but well worth it given the quality of the food and the level of service.

The Herrington is a top-shelf hotel, period. If you stay, be prepared for a wonderful experience at a pretty reasonable rate. Located right on the Fox River, it's scenic, romantic, and right in the heart of downtown Geneva. Combine the helpful and friendly staff with all of the aforementioned, and you have a recipe for a great stay that you will never forget.

Thank you again, Herrington staff, for making our 10th wedding anniversary the best that it coud be.

Room Tip: River view rooms have balconies that have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your 10th anniversary at the Herrington and return for many more special occasions.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had such a fantastic experience at the Herrington this past weekend that I am writing my first review of anything on line. First, of all, we had my daughter's wedding there this past weekend and we booked 24 rooms for the event! Every single person who stayed there loved it! The service was exceptional- everyone bent over backwards to help with anything we needed at anytime! The rooms are all different and all beautiful. We had views of the river and a balcony to sit on.

On Sunday after the wedding was over, my family sat outside the restaurant eating lunch for almost three hours. We were in the courtyard overlooking the river. The food was great and it was such a lovely experience.

That night, we had dinner in the Herrington's Restaurant. It was truly one of the best meals I have had in a long time. It is an upscale restaurant with impeccable service and wonderful food.

Each morning we woke to a lovely continental breakfast buffet, where people can sit and relax on comfy couches and chairs and enjoy a long leisurely breakfast. Some of our family members sat there for hours!

This inn is situated right across the way from an incredible bike and walking path that goes on for many, many miles and is located in downtown Geneva, which is also terrific. What a great place for a romantic weekend, a few days with friends or a family event!

For those interested in weddings- every single detail was perfect! The service was extraordinary! The support from everyone who worked there was fantastic! The food was terrific and the setting for both the outdoor ceremony and the indoor wedding was also perfect! I could not imagine a more perfect place for a wedding- both for those who live in the area and those looking for a destination!

The only thing that wasn't perfect was the airconditioning. It was very cold in some of the rooms after the heat wave was over. Maybe the hotel had it set too low because when we came the first night and it was over hundred degrees, the rooms were not quite cool enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

On our visit to the Herrington Inn & Spa, we were very pleasantly surprised and impressed with both accommodations and the amenities of the Inn. Our spacious room was beautifully decorated in a Victorian décor with four poster bed, desk, marble top credenza and gas fireplace. We liked being on the 3rd floor (top floor) with its higher ceiling giving a very open feeling. The porch had a table and chairs with great views of the lush landscaped garden atrium and the Fox River. There was even a screen door and windows that opened allowing for nice cool breezes. The bathroom was ultra-deluxe! A huge deep whirlpool tub, separate granite glass shower and long counter were all top quality. The bidet was an extra luxury (be sure you know how to use it). An easy walk to downtown made it very convenient. Once we parked our car, we could walk most anywhere we wanted to visit. We loved the turn down service with our robes and slippers draped carefully on the bed –Milk and cookies! Pint bottles of milk and fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies! It has been years since we enjoyed cold milk and cookies at bedtime. It was fantastic! In the morning we enjoyed a complimentary continental breakfast in the hotel lobby. The Herrington Inn & Spa is the place to stay when visiting Geneva, IL

Room Tip: Views of the River and Garden are very nice and you can enjoy sitting on the porch. We also liked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I live only 15 minutes from The Herrington but because of recent stress my husband sent me here for a night away from the kids. Upon arriving I was greeted so warmly by the front desk staff. I was shown to my room and was so pleased. The bed was beautiful and the room had a great view of the river and cute fireplace. Had a massage at the spa..... Was wonderful! Comfortable bed and bedding
Only two negatives: the hot tub in the room had a lot of dirt/mold in the jets and at 7 a.m. the housekeeping staff began to work just outside of my room and made a LOT of noise. That was a big disappointment since I was trying to get away from morning noise!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room far away from the housekeeping area unless you are a very early riser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFANDME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 46th anniversary here for 2 nights.Rooms very nice with king bed and fireplace--which we didn't use for it was high 90's outside.We had a great whirlpool tub and enjoyed it.
The location is very nice-right beside the river.One evening we sat on the terrace and had sorbet and enjoyed the view and the birds.What a peaceful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shepherdess33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing