We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favorite spots”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of my favorite spots”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

my husband and i loved the herrington inn. the ambience is very inviting and warm. the rooms are very comfortable and beautiful. def. a great place to spent some time alone. i would recommend the herrington in a heartbeat to anyone who is looking for a romantic gateway.we travel in the wintertime around christmas season. The view from our room of the lights and view on the fox river, reminded me of europe. it was an amazing experience. i also heard their spa is wonderful.

thank you very much
heidy goercke

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidygoercke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    57
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
227
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leo
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

we loved the ambience at this inn located on the Fox River in Geneva, IL. Once a dairy mill, it has been converted into an inn with about 60 plus rooms. Ours(a junior river suite) was huge with high ceilings, plush fabrics and a beautiful bathroom with bubble tub. We had a fabulous, relaxing weekend exploring the nearby town of Geneva. Go to Fiora's for dinner!There's also a great deli several doors down from Fiora's where we lunched. Also, love the spa features(great massages) and the fitness club just across the street.

What a great weekend stay for couples!

Room Tip: Junior River suite have view of Fox River, quiet and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursenomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOKENA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went for a New Year's celebration, and packed our bags well before midnight. The noise level was atrocious: banging, thumping, and shouting (we thought we were in a frat house.) In addition, the hotel laundry room was right outside our door, and the maids were having a laundry party into the early hours of the evening. We were a little suspicious when we discovered all of the lights had low wattage bulbs...but, upon further inspection it was CLEAR why. The place was pretty shabby and dirty-UCK! We brought wine and a movie to hang out, but when you laid on the bed you had to crick your neck 45 degrees to see the TV. High class spa-NO WAY. It took me seven weeks to receive a credit from American Express, but I did it! NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PAULA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

While our son was attending Wheaton College, we adopted this remarkable inn as home away from home. This weekend we had the pleasure of rekindling our enjoyment while celebrating a family birthday. Admittedly Geneva is a much more enjoyable destination in the spring and fall, but even with the wind chill in the 20s, several excellent restaurants are in walking distance. And the restaurant at the inn itself is one of the best.

Room Tip: The Herrignton Suites are the best, but also the costliest. Short of that, any of the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uilaw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our Inn and restaurant, Atwater's. We do strive to pass along that "home away from home" feeling to our guests with our service and beautiful surroundings, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We have been coming to the Herrington Inn & Spa for years now to celebrate our anniversary. The rooms are fantastic, large with wonderful amenities and great views of the Fox River. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The Herrington is a great place to make wonderful memories. We will continue to make new memories here.

Room Tip: The junior river suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Herrington Inn is a gem of a hotel, just about 50 miles West of Chicago. The short drive there will have you in a county like setting that will make you feel more like hours away from the big city. The rooms overlook the Fox River, be sure and try to get a balcony room if possible. There is a lovely fireplace in the room and a giant whirlpool tub. Warm cookies and milk are delivered to your room nightly, a nice touch as the building used to be a creamery. We have never had any luck booking a spa appointment even a week in advance, and we have stayed here several times, so be sure and book WAY in advance. Lovely restaurant as well, close to Geneva shopping and history museum.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisegrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

If you are looking for a cozy, romantic weekend getaway, then you've found the right place! While the hotel is located right in the middle of shopping, restaurants (and even a bit of traffic/main streets), once you step inside, all of your cares and worries just float away! We loved the lobby -- very quaint and quite impressive! -- truly a wonderful boutique hotel. We stayed on the first floor near the Spa in a room with a king-sized bed, over-sized jacuzzi tub, glass shower, and gas fireplace. The patio opened up directly to the Fox River and we couldn't believe just how close the water was as we stepped outside! Though a busy street (complete with bridge over the river) was just yards away with traffic zooming by, the sound of the rushing water was more than relaxing and seemed to keep that busy 'outside world' far enough away to forget your worries. We even slept with our screen door open to enjoy the sound of the babbling water as we fell asleep. (A room facing the river is highly recommended, as the other rooms face the parking lot and would highly detract from the 'getaway/relaxing' feeling you're seeking.) The spa services were wonderful and everyone was very kind & professional. We enjoyed the couples aromatherapy massage and even had the Spa draw a relaxing aromatherapy salt bath in our room (you can choose from a variety of baskets containing various scents and salts)...and they prepare everything for you for a very minimal fee. The milk and chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful touch with the turn-down service, too! The cookies were very thick (almost like a biscuit) and ooey, gooey warm! And we can't speak highly enough of Atwater's for an amazing dinner. This is definitely an excellent winter destination due to the almost cave-like warmth the hotel provides... very low, soft lighting, comforting touches to the decor and an overall air of coziness truly abounds! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Definitly choose a room facing the river and preferably near the Spa if you're on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachyKeen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you so much for helping us highlight what a wonderful winter getaway The Herrington is! Between the cozy guest room views, spa services, and fireplace in Atwater's restaurant, we are a great winter warm up. The milk and cookies seem to be everyone's favorite! We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
478 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
136 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#1 of 18 in Naperville
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing