We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened??”
Review of Front Street Cantina - CLOSED

Front Street Cantina
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Montgomery, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What happened??”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have been to this place many times before and drinks and food was great, last time I was there was in Oct 2013, not sure what happened from then until now but everything was bad. 3 of us ordered margarita's and all 3 of us sent them back, she brought us 3 more and they were worse than the first one. You would think at a Mexican restaurant they would have great margarita's, the food was not all that good and the service was very slow at best. Very disappointing evening. I won't be going back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Piper226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Have dined here many times over the last few years. The food is always fresh (and not greasy like some Mexican)...my favorite is the chicken soup. Loaded with vegetables! We usually sit at the bar - service is very good, and they have an extensive beer offering.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel26x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, food not hot, stale chips- disappointing”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I saw many reviews on this place but gave it a try because it's a great location right by the train and it was open Sunday. Server was really great and attentive! Aside from that-stale chips, lukewarm food. Two things that you just have to get right! Glad we tried it but not going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly reasonably priced”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We go to Front Street Cantina all the time. Usually there is no wait or minimal wait and they have seating for larger families. Friendly kids menu and good drinks and mexican food for adults.
Lively atmosphere and Bar with TV. Always have a good meal at a great price!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty Ordinary”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have eaten here a couple of times now. The food is not great, but not bad either. It's very average, very run of the mill. The service really needs some work.The server didn't seem very experienced. Everything I ate tasted prepackaged and or out of a freezer. They have a great location but they really need to work on the food and the service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Cantina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing