We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very Irish, not particularly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Claddagh Irish Pub

Claddagh Irish Pub
Ranked #49 of 147 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Williamsberg
Aurora, IL, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not very Irish, not particularly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food is almost good, but when you order a fish sandwich you kind of expect that the cheese they put on it might be melted a bit and not cold right from the sliced cheese cooler, and that they might bring tartar sauce and catsup to the table without having to ask and then wait 10 minutes for those to show up. 4 of us had dinner tonight, one will definitely never be back, the rest of us might but with lowered expectations. The servers were pretty good. White wine choices weren't good. Did Johnny Depp really give Claddagh the serve a sandwich named for him? Food was tasty but the details that show the staff and management care are definitely lacking. No wonder the place was a ghost town by 8:30 (Tuesday night).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was Terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Been here before for dinner and food was average. This time went for lunch about 1pm. One would think that having lunch at 1pm would be okay but beware. My wife ordered the Corned Beef and Cabbage...corned beef was cold, tough and tasteless; potatoes were cold and cabbage was soso. I ordered the Fish & Chips....fish was lukewarm like it was sitting for a while and warmed up in microwave; breading or whatever it was separated from fish. Chips also were cold. Guiness as usual, was cold and great. Waitress was accomodating; had no complaints about the service. She apparently told the Manager about our complaint about the corned beef and the manager graciously offered another dish but my wife declined. Don't think we'll visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pupule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Irish Atmosphere + Good Irish Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm sad to read that some people weren't real impressed with the Claddagh. I've gone there many times with friends and never had a bad meal, and the service was always excellent. The atmosphere is very Irish as it seems the owners have visited Ireland many times. --This is a great place to bring out-of-town guests as besides its good food it's located in an upscale outdoor shopping mall that has many stores that out-of-towners especially would enjoy.

The hardest part of doing these reviews if when you ask the date of the visit. I go there often, so it's many dates!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food ooutstanding service and atmosphere .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife Janet and I have been there a number of times the Irish cusine is delisous the english fish and chips are great .
The atmosphere is so relaxing you hate to leave.

Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love ambiance but a little table lighting so you can read the menu would be a great help. The menu is somewhat disappointing. Their idea of steak is sirloin? how about some options, that would be nice. We ate here 2 years ago on Halloween and I had prime rib which was super. Since I general do not eat sirloin I went with the Corned beef and Cabbage. My parents were Irish immigrants as well as my grandparents and the corned beef and cabbage was like no other I have ever had. Pretty bland! The best thing about the meal was the spinach dip appetizer and the beer. If you are looking for authentic traditional Irish fare, I would look elsewhere

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Claddagh Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing