We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Geneseo
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My daughter and I are on a road trip from Connecticut to New Mexico. Over the past 2 days, the mid-western states have experienced some intense storms. We had just passed Princeton, IL, when we realized we were headed right for a wall of dark storm clouds. We pulled off the I-80 in Geneseo and drove to the Americas Best Value Inn by total chance. Not only were we greeted warmly by Anne, but were so pleased by the lovely clean room, great rate and continental breakfast. The hotel is super clean and well appointed with lovely staff and owner (who bought the place 2 years ago and has totally renovated and upgraded it from its previous incarnation as a Super 8). It is a non-smoking establishment and also has a pool that looks very nice, though we didn't use it. I would highly recommend spending the night here. Additionally, there is an independently owned pizza place right across the street that serves great pizza. Our stormy night turned into a bonus! Many thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyUSARSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review--What a compliment! We certainly appreciate you being our guest and taking the time to post a review online. Also, thank you for noting all of the improvements to our property. It is our goal to ensure that each and every one of our guests receives a high level of service in a clean, comfortable and inviting environment. I will certainly pass on your kind and positive words to Ann. Again, thank you for your review and for being our guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Darshna Bhakta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
10
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The other reviews since the name change and the remodel are pretty accurate. It is a family owned place, and they were very nice. It was clean and recently updated. I read a review that mentioned the aroma of the family’s cooking. While I could notice it in the lobby, it certainly wasn’t over powering or offensive, and no one in our group minded it at all. I booked it through a travel site, but my friends called them directly and got a better price, so that is what I would recommend. You can tell the rooms were remodeled, and if you look you can find some things that aren’t perfect. However, the owner gave us a nice room set up, along with our friends. We all agreed that we would stay there again if we needed a place while traveling. It probably isn’t a destination hotel if you are looking for a weekend get-away, but Geneseo isn’t really a destination town. The hotel is a few miles from I80, but signs take you right to it. We saw the other hotel in town, and it looked fine. With that being said, given the choice between the two, I would pick this again due to price and the experience we had.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners. They will give you want you want. Our friends had a corner room on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMtoORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you felt the room and other services were satisfactory. We're very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay with us and we do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
With Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Darshna Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel looks nice, it even has updated furniture in the rooms. The problem, it's the most expensive Americas Best value inn in America. The breakfast is small and not so fresh. They charge for everything down to plugging in you car over night so the cold doesn't kill it and when you shower don't expect it to be hot. The front desk attendant is a whole different story. She greeted us very promptly but what came out of her mouth was slander, racism, and bigotry. She was great if you are white.... Who knew..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniGI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

General Manager,
Darshna Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After having been broken on the side of the road due to the truck rental we purchased, we checked into this hotel and immediately my experience with the front desk ladies Ann and Sue was awesome. THEY were very empathetic to my situation and made my stay comforting. The hospitality was fabulous and they even extended our checkout time until everything was transferred from one truck to the other. Stay here.....I'm sure you WILL NOT regret it. Will stay here again if passing thru. Thanks again Americas Best Value Inn of Geneseo, IL!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you, We love hearing great things about our employees. Our team strives to make everyone feel at home during their stays with us. Ann and Sue has been applauded for their excellent service.
Thank you,
Darshna Bhakta, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This motel has been taken over by America's Best Value and I couldn't be more pleased! Number one...fitted bottom sheets! It's so nice not waking up on the mattress because the management is too cheep to buy the bottom sheet. Next they have sandwiched the blanket between 2 sheets, giving a clean crisp feel. New carpet, large rooms, microwave, and fridge. There is also an indoor pool so swimming year round. The staff is very nice. I managed to de-magnetize my key 3 times, no problem getting it fixed. (Don't put your key with your cell phone, or near a magnet like the one on my purse) Best of all was the super nice lady that took care of our room for our 4 night stay. No it's not the Marriott, but its a wonderful small town kept semi frozen in time. Real Americana. Lots of churches to choose for Sunday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to share with others your experience at the Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, IL. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring back to Geneseo.

General Manager,

Darshna Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This one of the better Americas Best Value Inns I have stayed in recently. This is a very clean motel. They have a very helpful friendly staff. Close to I 80. A good selection of restaurant's in the area. Continental breakfast very nice. Beds very comfortable. Indoor heated pool very nice.

Room Tip: Join the Value club and save even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad we met your expectations during your trip. Here at the Americas Best Value Inn, we strive to provide the most value for your stay. Again thank you for the review, and hope you choose us again when visiting the Quad City Area.

General Manager,

Darshna Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The new owners of this hotel have been working hard to upgrade and make improvements. This hotel was formally a Super 8 and was less than desirable. However,after the new owners took it over as Americas Best Value Inn I decided to give it a try since I am in Geneseo every couple of months. It is luxurious but it is a clean, comfortable stay and the staff is always friendly and accommodating. The only thing I would mention that might put some people off is that the owners reside on site, and there is usually a very strong smell of spices and curry especially when you enter in the lobby area. It doesnt bother me i enjoy curry, but some people might find it to be a turnoff. Other than that, it is a quiet comfortable place to stay that is inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshna B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. I’m glad we were able to accommodate you and your family’s needs. Also, measures have been taken to rectify the smell of spices and curry. Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again.
Thank you,
General Manager
Darshna Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneseo
1.0 mi away
Best Western Geneseo Inn
14.1 mi away
Best Western Annawan Inn
23.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Moline - Quad Cities
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Moline - Quad Cities
17.3 mi away
Best Western Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo
Address: 765 W. Main Street, Hwy 6 & W Main, Geneseo, IL 61254-1503 (Formerly Super 8 Geneseo)
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneseo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Geneseo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Geneseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing