We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Overnight Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK Overnight Stop”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I booked this hotel on a business trip visiting customers in Peoria, Davenport and Galesburg and this property was central to all. It is a "dated" HIE from the mid-90s. It is a good stopping point for folks traveling cross country, it is right by I-74 and has easy access from the freeway. It was clean and quiet. There is an indoor pool and fitness center if you or your kids need to burn off some energy from being in the car all day. Breakfast is standard HIE fare; cheese omlettes, biscuits and gravy and the usual breakfast items. Staff was very friendly. The mattress wasn't as comfortable as what I've experienced at other HIE locations. There aren't many dining options close by, but there is a large grocery store next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbfltri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceRep, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for sharing the positive feedback about our staff. We will make sure to pass it on to them. We are currently in the process on doing some updates to our hotel and hope to be finished with them in the first quarter of 2014. We look forward to hopefully doing business with you in the future.
Whitney Hendricks
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    118
    43
    6
    5
See reviews for
115
62
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful over night get away! Everything was excellent! Easy parking, nice quiet room, awesome breakfast! Very friendly staff! I have knee problems and very much appreciated the easy access room we were given right off the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceRep, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Julie M.,
Thank you for the fantastic review! I am pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Whitney Hendricks
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I travel for my job and stay at various HIX locations throughout Central Illinois. This property has been in the very bottom half, easily. My room was pretty dirty,
a sticky ring on the nightstand, floor in bathroom had visible dirt, carpet looked like it hasn't been vacuumed in a few stays, walls in room were physically dirty as well. I just like staying in a room where I feel comfortable taking off my socks. Here, not so much! Had my thermostat sat to 65 and it was definitely more like 75 in my room. Had set on constant fan and on high it sounded like an airplane taking off, on low it barely made a sound. The uneven temperature made the room and my overall stay not very comfortable. Couldn't sleep well at all, I'm disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrb922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGM, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear nrb922,
Thank you for taking the time to share you concerns about your stay at our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Galesburg. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide to our guest. It is a disappointment to hear that we fell short in delivery a positive experience during your stay. We will be sharing this feedback with our management team and staff, using this info to improve will allow us to provide a better experience to our guest and especially you for future stays.
Please contact me either through this site as a private message or I can also be reached at the hotel. We would like to identify the guest room you stayed in so we can correct the maintenance and housekeeping issues.

Thank you,
Ryan Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

An older HIE. However, upgraded showers, beds and linens. Nice amenities mouthwash, shampoo, conditioner, soap, hair dryer, microwave and refrig. Unfortunately, the refrig was so loud, I had to unplug it to sleep. The temp was hard to control as well. Would have liked to have had a night light. Usually I just keep the light on in the bathroom and close the door. However, the noisy vent didn't allow this. There isn't a nice restaurant within walking distance...although there are plenty downtown. I went across the street to HY VEE and had a simple chicken dinner for about $5.00! Not bad. Check in/out was easy and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceRep, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We are currently putting a plan together to solve these issues. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Whitney Hendricks
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I spent a night here on a longer trip, and the property seemed very clean and nice. Linnens were typical for Holiday Inn Express, with choice of Soft and Firm pillows, nice towels, good assortment of toiletries. My room was on the third floor, with a King size bed, microwave, mini fridge, and bathroom. Location is convenient right off I-74, with a grocery store and gas station in walking distance. Restaurants are down the street, an easy drive. The staff was very nice, and I had no issues during the stay. Internet access was excellent.

The only thing that keeps this from getting five stars is that the property seems a bit dated and in need of a refresh. The exterior paint was a bit faded, and the interior of the room looked like it was older. It was clean, but there was some chipped paint, extra caulk around the top of the tub where wall paper was starting to peel, and the like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMMtx1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a good stay here. Of the larger chains in Galesburg, this was our favorite. The staff was pretty friendly and helpful with a full hotel. The breakfast was good. The room was ok. Everything was pretty clean. Very clean compared to some of the other hotels in Galesburg. The pool was a bit heavy on the chlorine, but probably safer that way with the number of people that were using it over the course of our stay.

As with all hotels in Galesburg, you have to pay way more than you'd expect. That's we've gone to staying in Peoria. We pay less and get better quality. I'll deal with the drive. That being said, on future trips where I need to stay in Galesburg, this would be my choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Doug V,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I am happy our hotel exceeded your expectations. I am glad to read you liked our staff service, clean hotel and breakfast options. We would cherish another moment to host your next stay when you are in the area again. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loami IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice and friendly place to stay while traveling with pets. The staff is very accommodating. Highly recommended. Extra charge for the dogs was not out of line. The only draw back is the rooms look a little tired. They are clean and well stocked. An empty refrigerator and a microwave are standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.4 mi away
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Address: 2285 Washington St, Galesburg, IL 61401-5581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baymont Inn & Suites Hotel in Galesburg is located on the east edge of Galesburg, a city rich in railroad and American history. Knox College, which is closely located to the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, was the site of the Lincoln-Douglas Debate. Other historic places of interest include the birthplace of poet Carl Sandburg, the Ronald Reagen Trail and the Galesburg Railroad Museum. Galesburg is the future home of the National Railroad Hall of Fame, which is to be built within walking distance of the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg. Not far from the hotel you'll find the BNSF rail-yard and the Amtrak station. If you enjoy the theatre, don't miss the magnificent Orpheum Theatre. And if you enjoy the fall colors, you don't want to miss the Spoon River-Knox County Scenic Drive which is held the first two weekends of October.The Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg offers 72 spacious and freshly remodeled rooms. Each room features free high-speed wireless Internet. Of course your stay won't be complete without enjoying our complimentary breakfast. Businesses near the hotel: BNSF, Gates Rubber Company, West Code Manufacturing, Historic Seminary Street shops, NAEIR, Dick Blick, Carhartt.Stay Smart, stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, conveniently located off I-74. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Galesburg Hotel Galesburg
Holiday Inn Galesburg
Galesburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing