We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right of the highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Right of the highway”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

An older HIE. However, upgraded showers, beds and linens. Nice amenities mouthwash, shampoo, conditioner, soap, hair dryer, microwave and refrig. Unfortunately, the refrig was so loud, I had to unplug it to sleep. The temp was hard to control as well. Would have liked to have had a night light. Usually I just keep the light on in the bathroom and close the door. However, the noisy vent didn't allow this. There isn't a nice restaurant within walking distance...although there are plenty downtown. I went across the street to HY VEE and had a simple chicken dinner for about $5.00! Not bad. Check in/out was easy and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceRep, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We are currently putting a plan together to solve these issues. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Whitney Hendricks
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    126
    45
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
65
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I spent a night here on a longer trip, and the property seemed very clean and nice. Linnens were typical for Holiday Inn Express, with choice of Soft and Firm pillows, nice towels, good assortment of toiletries. My room was on the third floor, with a King size bed, microwave, mini fridge, and bathroom. Location is convenient right off I-74, with a grocery store and gas station in walking distance. Restaurants are down the street, an easy drive. The staff was very nice, and I had no issues during the stay. Internet access was excellent.

The only thing that keeps this from getting five stars is that the property seems a bit dated and in need of a refresh. The exterior paint was a bit faded, and the interior of the room looked like it was older. It was clean, but there was some chipped paint, extra caulk around the top of the tub where wall paper was starting to peel, and the like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMMtx1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a good stay here. Of the larger chains in Galesburg, this was our favorite. The staff was pretty friendly and helpful with a full hotel. The breakfast was good. The room was ok. Everything was pretty clean. Very clean compared to some of the other hotels in Galesburg. The pool was a bit heavy on the chlorine, but probably safer that way with the number of people that were using it over the course of our stay.

As with all hotels in Galesburg, you have to pay way more than you'd expect. That's we've gone to staying in Peoria. We pay less and get better quality. I'll deal with the drive. That being said, on future trips where I need to stay in Galesburg, this would be my choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Doug V,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I am happy our hotel exceeded your expectations. I am glad to read you liked our staff service, clean hotel and breakfast options. We would cherish another moment to host your next stay when you are in the area again. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loami IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice and friendly place to stay while traveling with pets. The staff is very accommodating. Highly recommended. Extra charge for the dogs was not out of line. The only draw back is the rooms look a little tired. They are clean and well stocked. An empty refrigerator and a microwave are standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stay in Holiday Inn Express properties all over the Midwest and this place is pretty typical. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms had everything I expected and were very comfortable. It does seem that the rooms could use a bit of renovations as they are getting a bit worn. My only real complaint is the price. This place was nothing special but was priced about 25% higher than similar properties.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DAA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We checked in late, after dark, and were so happy to have a room. It was a very nice room, clean and quiet. Breakfast was a treat the next morning, bisquits and gravy, eggs, most anything you would need. Folks at the front desk were great, friendly and helpful. They did charge a lot ($25) for our small dog but we were happy that she was welcome there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I approached my room with much trepidation, because I had been reading a lot of negative reviews regarding hotels generally and a few regarding this hotel specifically on TripAdvisor, so I was prepared to find all manner of fault. Frankly, I also have had more than a few bad experiences with Holiday Inn, so I have tended toward the Hilton chain for quite some time now and never been disappointed. But I needed to stay in Galesburg and there was no Hampton Inn, so I took a chance on HIE. First off, I had requested a room on the third floor away from the Interstate, based on a prior review here, and foam pillows. Check, and check. Interstate noise was non-existent, and had multiple foam pillows, some marked soft, others firm. The Wi-Fi was wholly adequate to support MMORPG video gaming, even at the far end of the building. Everything was clean with towels galore. I would catch the faintest whiff of some smell occasionally, and although it didn't quite smell like tobacco, I marched down to the front desk to tell them about it, because even if it was not objectionable, I didn't want to be charged for it (see the fine print in the contract you sign at check-in). But the receptionist just laughed and said I wasn't the first person to notice the new furniture smell. Oh, okay, if it wasn't a problem for them, it wasn't a problem for me. Breakfast was a bit of a step up from the usual fare at Hampton Inn: scrambled eggs, enough bacon to feed an army, ham slices, biscuits, and of course their trademark cinnamon rolls. There was also cereal and I think pancakes, but who would want them with all the other tasty food? I'm trying hard to find something negative and I guess it would be that the clock was blinking when I entered the room, so I had to set the time. I know, right? I've been in hotel rooms for which I've hundreds more and had the same problem and couldn't even figure out how to set the clock. So as to everything that mattered, I was much impressed and would stay again. I did get a substantial discount on the rate, so I rated value highly, but I was a bit surprised by the standard going rate at this hotel and all the others in Galesburg. Of course, I can remember when gas was 33 cents a gallon and you could buy a 24-pack of Coke for under $4, so I guess it's me. :)

Room Tip: I had room 322 and the furniture was new and the exterior noise greatly suppressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolemnSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
0.4 mi away
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Address: 2285 Washington St, Galesburg, IL 61401-5581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baymont Inn & Suites Hotel in Galesburg is located on the east edge of Galesburg, a city rich in railroad and American history. Knox College, which is closely located to the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, was the site of the Lincoln-Douglas Debate. Other historic places of interest include the birthplace of poet Carl Sandburg, the Ronald Reagen Trail and the Galesburg Railroad Museum. Galesburg is the future home of the National Railroad Hall of Fame, which is to be built within walking distance of the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg. Not far from the hotel you'll find the BNSF rail-yard and the Amtrak station. If you enjoy the theatre, don't miss the magnificent Orpheum Theatre. And if you enjoy the fall colors, you don't want to miss the Spoon River-Knox County Scenic Drive which is held the first two weekends of October.The Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg offers 72 spacious and freshly remodeled rooms. Each room features free high-speed wireless Internet. Of course your stay won't be complete without enjoying our complimentary breakfast. Businesses near the hotel: BNSF, Gates Rubber Company, West Code Manufacturing, Historic Seminary Street shops, NAEIR, Dick Blick, Carhartt.Stay Smart, stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, conveniently located off I-74. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Galesburg Hotel Galesburg
Holiday Inn Galesburg
Galesburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing