We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Galesburg Memories”
Review of Great House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great House
Ranked #1 of 3 Galesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I went to Galesburg, Illinois, to visit the Knox College archives for genealogy research and donation of items and to get away for our anniversay. We chose Great House for our stay and were wonderfully surprised at what a jewel we found in Galesburg. This beautifully restored home is operated by a caring innkeeper who lovingly restored this period home with great integrity and beauty. Our Washington Room was beautifully decorated, the bed linens were of the highest quality affording a comfortable rest, and the cleanliness of the place was exceptional. Ladies, don't pack the hair dryer, there is one there. There also toiletries such as shampoo, face soap, shower gel and lotion if you choose to enjoy those. Now...the full breakfasts are served on a variety of high quality china daily, with remarkably excellent breakfasts complete with lighted candles. You will not regret the stay! Thank you Betty for being so gracious and accommodating!

Room Tip: Be prepared for rail road noise since Galesburg is a major rail road hub!! It is noisy everywhere in...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Great House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

We found the Great House to be everything we were looking for in a B&B; it is clean, quiet, inexpensive, centrally located for sight-seeing, private baths, and owned by an interesting and energetic innkeeper. Since we were traveling by motorcycle, the paved off-street parking is a plus. Since our "carrying capacity" was limited, it was important that all the necessities (shampoo, blow dryer, etc) are provided. The home was completely refurbished in the 1990s and early 2000s, so everything works and is in great shape.

Guests have free access to the parlors, music room, and dining room, plus the decks and porch outside. There were no 'minuses' with this stay. Breakfast was prepared at the time we requested, and was not elegant but very satisfying. It would have been nice if coffee were available earlier, and perhaps Betty would provide that if asked.

Overall, a great stay, and one B&B we will return to when our travels take us to Galesburg.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Betty, the owner, was very welcoming. Rooms are large and well appointed, I especially appreciated having the vanity and sink area outside of the bath. Breakfast was yummy! We would return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Champaign
16
Reviewed December 15, 2004

I left four messages and sent two e-mails over a period of about a week and a half. The innkeeper never responded. I had every intention of staying there. My husband attended Knox College and was excited to get the chance to show me around Galesburg. He had heard great things about The Great House. It looked like a lovely place and I was very excited. Unfortunately the innkeeper dropped the ball and we had to plan a completely different trip.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Yellow Springs, OH
13
Reviewed December 21, 2002

This is one of the nicest places we have ever been to. Betty, the innkeeper, makes you feel MORE at home than any where else we have been (and we love to stay at B&B's.) It is elegance in motion -- absolutely beautiful, with very large rooms at a reasonable price. The back porch is delightful in the summer. We are going there now in the winter and can't wait to see the Christmas decoations - she was decorating when I called to reserve. It is one of the few places that we wanted to spend extra days, just to relax -- when we didn't have them! (Other place's reviews say that, but this really is it!) We recommend that you stop there whenever you are enroute to anywhere nearby. It's worth even to go out of route!
Joan

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galesburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great House

Address: 501 E Losey St, Galesburg, IL 61404
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galesburg
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing