We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic firehouse”

Iron Spike Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Galesburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historic firehouse”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I really like the menu at this place- it is a fun and lively but load new place- most of the time the food is very good- their reuben sandwich is the best I have ever had- be hungry because it is huge. Great bacon popcorn, fish tacoes,and innovative fresh salads with fun combinations. They could do better in the service area of this new place- they also need to address the noise level- forgot talking to even the person sitting next to you if there is a band playing but that's usually very late on a weekend night. The place has a fun vibe and it is a great rehab job on the old fire station.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pickEeater13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilson, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Iron Spike is new and has really taken off in Galesburg. This is a brewer with some local beers and good food. Our class reunion was held in the upstairs portion and it was perfect for our class of 60. The food was very good and we enjoyed having our own personal bar and seating area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank becsings57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora,il
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Came to Galesburg for class reunion and tried this place. I remember the firetrucks roaring out in years past. The beer was good, food good and service was good until we tried to pay and our waitress disappeared. I think she got interested in her cell phone. This place would be a good addition to any downtown.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great microbrewery - bad service”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Ambiance is fantastic! Converted, old firehouse. Great beer selection. Unfortunately, our bartender was more interested in chatting with coworkers than seeing if we needed another drink. Service kept this from a 5.

Helpful?
Thank Williamjnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh craft beer, good food, personable staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had dinner at the Iron Spike Brewing Company this evening. On tap were 5 or 6 craft beers, mostly ones brewed on site. The Anti-Hero IPA was crisp, flavorful and not too bitter. I had a portobello burger with the house fries and a blueberry cobbler for dessert. The burger was very good and the fries were freshly made. The cobbler was delicious but a bit on the sweet side for my taste.

The staff was pleasant and personable and not overbearing. The place was not crowded. I had dinner at about 7 pm local time on a weeknight. Overall a very good find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Spike Brewing Company also viewed

 
Galesburg, IL
 

Been to Iron Spike Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing