We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently I made a mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Unfortunately I must retract ANYTHING GOOD that I previously said about this hotel! I have finally given up trying to get my money back from them and Best Western has a corporate entity. We stayed at this hotel with our High School Baseball team in March. Upon arriving home and checking my credit card I found not one room charge but 3. I called the hotel and was told "we will be glad to take care of the situation" All I had to do was send them a list of the names of the families that were a part of our trip. I faxed that information within the week and called the hotel and was told "we will take care of it!" After several more phone calls and a couple of months of "taking care of it" I decided to call corporate. I shared all the information with them that you just read. Bottom line here we are more than 6 months later and I have neither heard from Best Western Inc. or seen a penny of my money. Unless you are either very sure of what you will be charged or you are very very very desperate DO NOT patronize this place.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
3  Thank Beach8Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 324 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Bring our son to college and decided to stay overnight. The hotel was old and not updated but seemed clean so we stayed. Lighting was terrible if you could get a light to stay on and the outlets were in really weird places. Later while laying in bed our door was being opened because the hotel clerk gave our room to another customer. Don't you think you would have remembered that seeing it was less than an hour ago???? The hotel clerk told me to hold when I called and kept me on hold until I hung up and called him back. He then told me sorry and that the situation had been resolved. Really that was all you had to say??? This was not a comforting feeling! Later in the evening when going to the washroom I had to kill a bug, thought I knew what it was but until I came home to look it up I was not sure....cockroach! Taking a shower in the morning only to look up and see that the cleaning person did not take all the old towels out with them....gross!!! Breakfast was good no complaints there but when we went back to our room our door would not open I guess that would be because the clerk had given our number to someone else!!! Not planning on a return visit there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My family stayed at this hotel in a pet room. The wall paper was peeling off the wall, the bedding had not been changed Spots Etc... The lady who cleaned our room stated that the day before there were two boys who had cleaned the room and did not due the job well. However she at that time did change all the bedding. My husband tipped her for that, but it should have been clean already!!! The bathroom would get EXTREMELY wet even the ceiling and water would drip on your head. I feel even though we are in a pet room and paying $90.00 a night the room should still be clean. The only good thing was the courtyard which was nice it was right off our room so we could walk the dog. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspire42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I stayed for a week in June 2010. The rooms are your basic hotel rooms. But they were very clean. I had no problems with any drains or of the room smelling, so I don't know what that is about. The grounds were very well maintained and there is a nice little courtyard between the buildings to sit and relax. There is wireless internet in the room I was in and it was very fast plus there is an ethernet port if you're wired but no cable available. Housekeeping was fantastic. I was in building "A" and Helen the housekeeper did a fanatastic job making my stay as comfortable as possible. She is the reason I'm writing this room. She just made everything fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gman204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We went to visit relatives in Galesburg this Memorial Day W/end & were debating betweeen BW or Holiday Inn Express....basically choose this BW based on it's larger pool. Upon check - in, we were off. When I walked up to the front desk & stated that I would like to check in I was greeted by a sarcastic remark "Of Course You Do". Isn't that why people use hotels ? It doesn't get much better . I also asked " from the same 20 something dark haired larger girl" for x-tra pillows & towels be delivered to my room . I knew I would need those items & was asked " You want them now?" Ummm---Yeah. Didn't I just ask for them? I'm thinking REALLY? #$%^$@#^ !! Anyway....went to our family BBQ & had a very nice day....back at the hotel around 1am, exhausted. Guess what !!! No xtra pillows or towels. The room itself was alright, but the fact that the service was so poor & pool area wasn't as clean as it could be.. I would recommend trying the HI express. It's about the same $$ & breakfast is included too.
Another quick note about the rooms....My family stayed in building A on the second floor. That building was maintained seemingly well however other family members stayed on the ground floor building E & the room was stinky & they did comment about holes in the bathroom walls with exposed pipes....Just thought I'd mention that too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChicagoFirewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

1. Our room smells liked a sour ashtray, even though the motel supposedly went non-smoking 2.5 years ago.
2. There were exactly two outlets our room, each overloaded with dust-covered multiple extension cords. When did this place last pass a fire inspection?
3. We tried to check in at 2:50 pm, along with several others who had shown up a bit early, and the desk clerks were openly rude, turning people away because it wasn't 3 pm. And one clerk said loudly, "After 3 o'clock, you're not my problem anymore because I'm out of here." Nice.
4. Beat-up scarred furniture.
5. None of the drains drained at all.
6. No wireless - you're tethered by a very short ethernet cable to the grody desk.

This place may look ok on the outside, but it's no bargain. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinsel1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

good room, clean, friendly staff. I stayed one night and would recco as it is right off the interstate highway.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401-5527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range: $92 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing