We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay when weather forced me off the road!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay when weather forced me off the road!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was driving during the middle of a winter storm when it was getting dark. I ended up stopping for the night at this Best Western, and was pleasantly surprised! My room was spacious, bed was cozy, and had many "homey" touches to give me some respite while on the road. The one minor complaint is that, after sensing that the hotel was expansive, I asked that I be close to the front desk. Instead, the guy at the front desk placed me in one of the farthest rooms away (it's on one level, but the rooms are arranged around a large outdoor courtyard). I was a little disappointed the hotel didn't offer free breakfast (although they did give me a discount coupon to their restaurant...10% off, but this was a pittance compared to the prices), but overall had a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank amanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! We always want our guests happy and comfortable during their stay. Our rooms are a little spread out through out the hotel, this is why we do have many entrances so you can park and be closer to your room. We recently renovated to make our guests feel more at home; thank you for saying the room were homely! We look forward to seeing you again! Hopefully our weather will be nicer so you can enjoy out spacious courtyard.



Thank You.
Amber Smith
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    92
    46
    32
    31
See reviews for
108
67
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have stayed here three times now and have been very happy w ith the hotel and especially the beds. We will stay here again We haven't tried the on site restaurant. The McDonalds and Hy Vee are just down the street so we've used them mostly..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for that nice review! We look forward to seeing you next time. Hopefully you can give Antonio's a try with our 10% coupons we give to you at check-in!


Amber Smith
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, IL, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've stayed at this Hotel many times and have always chosen to return rather than stay elsewhere while in Galesburg, Illinois. This is a nice hotel, very clean, and comfortable.. Some lengthy walks from room to restaurant/lobby are required, but overall, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Van S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are a bigger hotel. With that said we do offer many entrances to your room so you can be closer to what you enjoy most at our hotel. You can always request a room that will make you comfortable. We hope to see you again soon!


Amber Smith
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb Cty
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My rating is 2 1/2 stars. We had a nicely renovated, clean room. The chairs were quite uncomfortable but we didn't spend time in the room other than to sleep. Pleasant stay although the front desk operators could have been more friendly and helpful, especially when we needed a luggage cart. They were all being used. It seemed we had only seen 2 on our stay, so plan accordingly since they are in high demand at checkout time. No elevator! We had a 2nd floor room and the roof was leaking and the ceiling was falling in spots in the 330 wing, luckily no such leaks in the area we were in. This didn't seem to be a problem that just happened as much of the hallway ceiling was stained and stucco was missing. There were 3 large metal pans, likely from the kitchen that had towels and standing water. This is and old Jumer's property and needs some work but our room was updated. I'm not sure if all rooms are or not, so inquire if that's important to you.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Homespn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always making changes and renovating. We are on our way to a new roof! With the melting snow and the rain this winter, the weather did take a little toll on our building. We recently had a new roof put on to our restaurant area. We hope you will come see us again soon!


Amber Smith
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galesburg hotels

Quincy, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel was off the beaten path a long way from town. The pool was closed and we were not told ahead of time even though I had talked to the hotel earlier in the week. The staff should be more professional in dealing with customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay.
Unfortunately, for a couple days, we had maintenance done to our pool area. We do apologize for the pool being closed during your night stay. We hope you will consider us again when you come thru Galesburg! We always inform on the phone and at check-in if we do have maintenance going on in our hotel. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to give me a call at 309-343-7151.




Guest Services
Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many years ago and found it dark. With their remodel the rooms and hallways are bright and first class. They care about the environment with a number of "green" initiatives. The pool is a hit with kids (and adults). The folks at the bar were extremely accommodating for our large family group. The dining room was short staffed for breakfast but they worked hard to serve us well. The rooms were warm and clean. Front desk was helpful. Everything was terrific.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Kathleen,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our remodeling and our staff in our restaurant! We are always wanting our guest happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope that you will visit us again when you come through Galesburg!!!



Guest Services
Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We used to live in Galesburg and stayed in this place when it was Jumers. It was very nice but dark halls and rooms. We return here often and usually stay in Comfort Inn and Country Inn. We've been staying in Best Western on our recent travels south so we decided to try here. Glad we did. The updated rooms are very nice. Beds are extremely comfortable. Bathrooms are very nice. I liked the makeup mirror. The hallways are long (we all need the walk) and low ceilings making it feel cavernous in the halls. Rooms aren't that way. No frig or microwave but we don't use that here. I do miss the complimentary breakfast when there is a restaurant on site but the rates are good.

We will stay here again on our next trip here in a month.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 241. There was six steps up from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Mary Lou,


Thanks so much for this awesome review! We are making a lot of changes through out our Best Western! We have recently remodeled and put in new floors and carpet in the rooms. Our beds are also newer! We are glad that you enjoyed the beds. We do offer 10% for Antonio's restaurant for dinner and breakfast. We are glad that you decided to try us out! We hope to see you again very soon!!!



Amber Smith

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing