We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Prairie Inn-Galesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Sherman, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Western Prairie Inn-Galesburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were in town for the Knox County Scenic Drive. The week before it would have been cheaper; but since that type of room was not available; it ended up being 10 dollars more. But we were satisfied with the rooms; the swimming pool was clean, but did not have a hot tub. The resturant meal was satisfactory for Sunday breakfast. I would have liked to have paid a little less for the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are very happy that you chose to stay with us during scenic drive weekend! Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

.




Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Guest Services
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prairie Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    87
    45
    32
    29
See reviews for
101
64
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

TV did not work. Called to have it fixed. Waited. Called again because they forget to send someone down. They forgot to change the sheets on one of the beds. They did not want to comp for this. I said I would like to speak to Manager. Of course they were on VK. Ended up finally getting a piece of paper that had a couple of things on it that was a joke for the restaurant. Wait till they have somebody who is scathing mad at them and see how that flies. Restaurant was super slow but the food was very good-I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict or the Mexican Skillet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies. We are glad that you did enjoy your breakfast and highly recommend it!



If you have any question at all please contact me at 309-343-7151.

We hope you will come see us again


Amber Smith
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in Galesburg for leisure and had a pleasant stay at the Best Western. The hotel is located close to shopping and restaurants including historic Seminary St., but in a quiet area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you Julie for your very sweet and positive feedback! We are near many places to shop and dine at. We are happy that we can make a nice quite place for you to stay. We hope to see you back soon!



Amber Smith
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We reserved a handicapped room with a roll in shower 30 days ahead of time because my wife is a paraplegic. We went to check in and they had NO handicapped rooms available! We did not cancel 24 hours ahead of time so they knew we were coming for 2 nights. They gave us the first night free, after much confrontation with the front desk and owner, because we had to stay in a regular room where my wife could not get into the bathroom. She cannot stand or walk and the wheel chair would not fit into the bathroom, so she could not even go to the bathroom. The owner offered us a free night or two free nights later if we decided not to stay. We had a birthday celebration of my wife and grand daughter so we weren't canceling the weekend. The 2nd day they moved us to a handicapped room which we paid $142. with tax. We were there for the pool, because it's large and has a handicapped lift to get my wife in the pool. The pool was very cold. I told the owner, and he showed me the temp was 84 degrees. Well it was still very cold. My wife couldn't stand it and I barely was able to swim. We did not enjoy ourselves at all and have no idea when we will go back to a Best Western after this experience. The pool is the major draw for this hotel and if the pool is cold to swim in you might as well close it. As far as not holding that handicapped room reserved 30 days ahead of time that was pathetic. I myself thought afterwards they should have given us both nights free. We had planned on going there once a month for a weekend all year round unless we were on vacation, but now we won't be doing that unless something dramatically changes there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Randal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Please know that we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that was caused. We enjoy when you come to visit us to use our indoor heated pool, as you mentioned we are the only hotel in the area with a large pool with a handicap accessible lift. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.


Amber Smith
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

While on a 3 day drive Chicago to LA stopped to recharge for the final day. Quiet, comfortable, clean, up to date, and everything worked. Breakfast was fresh and tasty with good choices. Hotel location is easy to find off the Interstate and is located close to gas, car wash, restaurants, and grocery.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Richard, we are glad that you decided to stop and stay with us at the Prairie Inn. We are always striving to make better updates and keep out hotel looking modern. Thank you for noticing! I am so happy you also enjoyed our delicious restaurant for breakfast. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you can stop in Galesburg and see us again.



Amber Smith
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a return trip from South Dakota to Ohio. The girl working the front desk greeted me with a smile and a warm welcome. Her customer service skills were excellent.
I went immediately to the on site restaurant as they were only about 10 minutes from closing and they were more than happy to still serve me. The burger and fries were great and the waitress was as nice and welcoming as the front desk employee.
The room was very nice and clean with a large flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent.
My only complaint about the hotel would be that the headboard of the bed was not really attached properly and would rattle the wall quite a bit as I would move around in bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel during your stay and we were able to serve you dinner before we closed. We hope you will choose our hotel the next time you come through Galesburg!



Thank You.


Guest Services
Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Hills, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was expecting the usual Best Western as I stay mostly in Best Western's. But this one was more than I imagined. It was beautiful. and clean and friendly and full of history. I cant wait to book it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks Debra for that sweet review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always striving to make our guest happy and comfortable. We hope that you will come stay with us again!


Amber Smith
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401-5527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing