We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Average...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Formerly known as Jumer's, this property was "the" place to stay or have your group event if you were in Galesburg. Unfortunately, that was 20 years ago. And although the current management has made great strides in bringing back the "glory days" of the facility, it still misfires in a few key areas that need to be improved in order to get there.

THE GOOD: From the front lobby to the remodeled rooms, from the spacious outdoor courtyard and "conversation pit" areas to the family-friendly pool scene and restaurant, the Prairie Inn has some very nice features. It was falling apart just a few years ago, and the new management (whom I believe is a local lawyer whose law practice is in the same commercial development area as the hotel) has done a great job in getting much of the property back up to snuff. Two sinks in the room, high speed internet is available, etc.

THE BAD: Some misfires that need to be corrected: Bathroom remodeling should have included curved shower curtain rods, as is now the industry standard. A light bulb was burned out in our room, it took 15 minutes for the staff to show up to correct it, and they didn't have the correct bulb for the fixture. This prompted me to wonder aloud just how many Prairie Inn maintenance workers it takes to change a light bulb. (Rim shot) Additionally (and this was really annoying), the hotel does not have wireless capability for the internet service and does not include a high-speed cable in the room (as, for example, Hampton Inn now does as a standard feature). It was inconvenient to go to the front desk to get one after driving for 7.5 hours that day. Finally, the 10% discount at the restaurant is nice, but you should just use the "buy one get one free" coupon in the local phone book... you'll save more on the total bill if you're not traveling alone.

THE VERDICT: A good place to stay if the Holiday Inn Express (which is also closer to the hotel and downtown than the Prairie Inn) is full, but management needs to start dotting i's and crossing t's in order to bring the property back to its former greatness.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StuphMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 320 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed at this hotel and were pleased. The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was a bit better than average and the hotel staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gallopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, IN
11
Reviewed June 6, 2006

I happened upon this hotel as I was traveling to Iowa. Wow..what an impressive property!! The staff went out of their way to make my stay very pleasant. The hotel's restaurant had the most delicious, freshly prepared items and priced reasonably. There was entertainment in the lounge which was also enjoyable. This hotel was definitely one of the finest hotels, charmingly furnished, exceptionally clean and comfortable, and excellent customer service...top notch people in Galesburg IL

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
1
Reviewed October 18, 2005

I stayed in the single suite in the hotel, and slept on a foldout couch. When I got ready for bed (at 11 pm)I could not find any sheets or blankets. I ended up sleeping rolled up in a bedspread. When I called the front desk the following morning, I was told that they only provide linens if they know someone is going to be using the bed -- the implication being that it was my fault for not telling them. A very uncomfortable night, and no desire on the part of management to deduct any of the cost of the room. I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gilberts, Illinois
11
Reviewed October 10, 2005

I've stayed at all of the brand name hotels in Galesburg and this is definitely the nicest one. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is exceptionally large and deep although the pool side hot tub is somewhat small with a capacity of only 5 people. All 3 meals are available in the hotel's "Homestead" restaurant where the atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast is smaller than those at other area hotels, but adaquate. You can opt to order the hot breakfast instead, although it is a bit pricey. There is a large, pretty courtyard where you can stroll and relax. Those who have difficutly walking need to be aware that there is NO elevator to the second floor. I was fortunate to get a main floor room and will plan to make my reservations well in advance the next time since my spouse cannot climb stairs. Overall, if you are willing to pay a little more for a nicer hotel, this is the BEST choice in Galesburg.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
waterloo, iowa
14
Reviewed January 19, 2005

I more or less stumbled onto this motel as I came off the interstate and I couldn't have been more impressed. Much nicer than hotels twice its price. All staff I encountered were very friendly and professional. My king room was in excellent shape and well furnished. The bar and restaurant were undoubtably the best in town. Breakfast was very low priced for a place as nice as this. The pool and hot tub were large, warm and well maintained. Everything here exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2003

Great pool. Rooms were nicely furnished. Breakfast was decent. Hotel is about 2 miles from downtown and walking there is not really an option (no sidewalks, traffic, etc.) but free shuttle around town made up for that. Hotel staff were friendly. Clearly a well run establishment.

3  Thank PopsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range: $96 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing