We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUG FOUND IN ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BED BUG FOUND IN ROOM”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were assigned a room, and, as always, we check for bed bugs under the mattress. Found some dark specks and one seemed to be an immature bug of some type. We searched further and found a dead one on the rug. Our opinion -- where there's one, there's more, but didn't see any.

We called the desk (only one person on duty for this huge hotel) and she authorized a room change and our second room was just okay.

For the price, I would skip. Full Breakfast which was good, but you pay for it. It added $20 to the bill.

On checking out, I mentioned to the desk attendant that I found a dead bed bug. She didn't even take down the room number.

This is the "Worst" Western I've stayed in.

Oh yes, the TV's didn't work due to a storm.

Did they say sorry for anything? Nope.

The girl on alone at night was new and polite

Room Tip: Check for bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our staff is trained in Bed Bug Prevention and Maintenance. They immediately inspected the room and found no infestation of any kind of pests. As an additional measure, we called in our contracted pest control company - Galesburg Termite & Pest Control - to inspect the room thoroughly, including behind the bed and in the curtains, and identify the bug you left in our possession. The bug was identified as a dog tick, which was likely brought in from a guest. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    87
    45
    32
    29
See reviews for
101
64
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My sister got married in Galesburg and this was the official wedding hotel. I've driven by it 100 times over the years, but have never stayed. From the outside, my assumption was that it was an aging hotel all around and came in with pretty low expectations.

The interior is not too bad-- they have done renovation work and the rooms themselves were quite nice-- good bedding, updated bathrooms, and probably one of the strongest showers I've had in awhile! All in all a good experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Two25Peoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter. We would like to express you congratulations to your sister and her new husband and wish them many years of happimess..

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as a well to do thank you for all their hard work and for them to continue their efforts. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Prairie Inn the next time you are in Galesburg, Illinois. We look forward to your return.

Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Large facility with very warm swimming pool, nice little bar and in-house restaurant. Carpets were being shampooed in common areas. Rooms were clean. The only issue was the restaurant food recipes were a little different than expected.

Room Tip: Bring your swim suit, the pool is really warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a nice review letter. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as a well to do thank you for all their hard work and for them to continue their efforts. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Prairie Inn the next time you are in Galesburg, Illinois. We look forward to your return.


Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Best Western Plus Prairie Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton,MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, so we didn't make reservations for this Best Western but after confronting a semi truck going the wrong way on off ramp we had to stop for the day.....we found this Best Western and gal checked us in with no issues and we even recived discount for Military.....this is an exceptional place and value is great. There is a resturant and lounge on the grounds and that is a plus. We did choose to have dinner here and that was a fantastic idea. Chef Tony is great and even chatted with us for awhile. The choices are great and he even gave us a sampling of a few items. We left quite full and brought dessert to our room. The rooms are very nice and clean. However if you need a frig in the room it is an additional charge. We never checked regarding microwave. Internet is free. We will stay again while traveling this route. Thank You for great evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as a well to do thank you for all their hard work and for them to continue their efforts. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Prairie Inn the next time you are in Galesburg, Illinois. We look forward to your return.


Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manger
Best Western Plus Prairie Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We will never stay here again. The front desk was rude and no help. We could not get wi-fi service and half of the channels are fuzzy. The towels are kinda smelly & hard. We had a king size bed with very small pillows that feel like they are stuffed with paper towels. We checked out and went to the Holiday Inn Express. We have stayed at multiple hotels here. No matter where you stay in galesburg you will not get a 3-5 star hotel :( I think next time we come to visit family we will stay with them. It would be nice is they had one with a spa!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stlfansforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.
I would invite you to contact me personally at (email is mistyt@prairieinn.biz), to discuss this with you further.

Regards,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Arrived late on a cold December Tuesday night - late. Service at reception was excellent. The hotel has a bar - stayed open for us (and a dozen nurses staying there for a Christmas annual!). The bar hostess was gracious, kind, served us until very late!

The hotel is laid out like an elementary school with halls going in all directions. The decor is a bit garish, but, the room was spacious, the bed very comfortable.

Breakfast was good - service was excellent! Good value for money, for sure! Indeed, the hotel was excellent value for money - and cannot commend the staff enough - excellent service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you Mr. Bath for the wonderful comments that we will share with the staff members that made your stay a success. We will look forward to you choosing us in the future as a place to stay when in Galesburg, Illinois.


Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letts, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

the first room we checked into had an issue with the vanity light. we were quickly moved to another room and they began fixing the problem in the first room we were in. This is an older hotel, but has been well maintained and updated. It was clean comfortable and the staff was polite and helpful. We went to the bar/resturant to have a few drinks. We didnt stay long as the drinks were priced a bit steep. But everything seemed nice clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Please feel free to call us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401-5527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing