We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
1 review
“Not again!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We will never stay here again. The front desk was rude and no help. We could not get wi-fi service and half of the channels are fuzzy. The towels are kinda smelly & hard. We had a king size bed with very small pillows that feel like they are stuffed with paper towels. We checked out and went to the Holiday Inn Express. We have stayed at multiple hotels here. No matter where you stay in galesburg you will not get a 3-5 star hotel :( I think next time we come to visit family we will stay with them. It would be nice is they had one with a spa!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stlfansforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.
I would invite you to contact me personally at (email is mistyt@prairieinn.biz), to discuss this with you further.

Regards,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    94
    46
    32
    31
See reviews for
109
67
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Arrived late on a cold December Tuesday night - late. Service at reception was excellent. The hotel has a bar - stayed open for us (and a dozen nurses staying there for a Christmas annual!). The bar hostess was gracious, kind, served us until very late!

The hotel is laid out like an elementary school with halls going in all directions. The decor is a bit garish, but, the room was spacious, the bed very comfortable.

Breakfast was good - service was excellent! Good value for money, for sure! Indeed, the hotel was excellent value for money - and cannot commend the staff enough - excellent service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you Mr. Bath for the wonderful comments that we will share with the staff members that made your stay a success. We will look forward to you choosing us in the future as a place to stay when in Galesburg, Illinois.


Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letts, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

the first room we checked into had an issue with the vanity light. we were quickly moved to another room and they began fixing the problem in the first room we were in. This is an older hotel, but has been well maintained and updated. It was clean comfortable and the staff was polite and helpful. We went to the bar/resturant to have a few drinks. We didnt stay long as the drinks were priced a bit steep. But everything seemed nice clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Please feel free to call us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Over the past year there have been many positive changes made to the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn in Galesburg, IL. The rooms have been remodeled, hallways now have new bright lighting, and the main area of the hotel looks very welcoming. The rooms were clean, including the corners in the bathrooms. The showers have new heads and on the wall is a dispensing system with body wash, shampoo,and conditioner. They have a new chef and the food is wonderful. We ate 4 meals there and all of them were great! The staff are friendly and willing to help with anything that is needed. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Please feel free to call us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I am wondering how this property obtained a "Plus" rating from Best Western. There is no elevator at this hotel. You have to get used to the layout of this property to find your way around. We were placed in Building E upon check in, and the lock was broken on the security door located near the parking lot. The room had "thin" walls; i.e., early in the morning you can hear people talking and doors closing. The treadmill in the exercise facility twice quit after just 45 seconds of use. So I used the stationary bike, which kept seizing up throughout my use of it. There is no complimentary breakfast at this particular Best Western. On the positive side, there were plenty of electrical wall sockets in the room. The bed was comfortable. The shower was great in the morning; felt like you were getting a massage! The check in and check out was quick. Hopefully the management will address the problems stated in this review.

Room Tip: If you do not like climbing stairs, stay on the bottom floor since this hotel does not have an eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This a large hotel with pleasent public areas. It has its own restaurant and a large and impresive indoor pool and jacuzzi. The rooms are good but you can be a long walk from the pool or restaurant if in the outlying wings. The service is good and the staff helpful. Dinner in the restaurant is no more than average but the breakfast was excellent ( different cook? ) This is not included in the room price. You can park close to the room. There are flat tvs and good beds.Train noise can be a problem.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room in a or b wings which are close facilities and have a patio on to a central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Prairie Inn to provide your lodging room. We are proud to welcome satisfied clientele and look forward to many years of you visiting the Galesburg area and staying at our hotel.

If you have any need to book a room at our hotel , we invite you to call us immediately at 309-343-7151, and we will be happy to assist you.

Once again, thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room was dated. There is no elevator. When someone enters the hall near room 310, the doors make noise all night. The hall door bounces before it closes a couple of time. The door on our room bounced when that hallway door bounced.

The toilet overflowed after I peed in it 1 time.

Management was indifferent when we told them of the problem.

I got no sleep either night there.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dotbowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We had maintance add additional cushioning to the door to minimize noise. They have also checked the working condition of the bathroom and have everything up to working order.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galesburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing