We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Visiting Knox College, I have stayed at this hotel many times. On my last visit, I could tell that updates are happening. The room had been updated. This is an older hotel and not fancy, but the rooms are big enough. There's a coffee maker. The beds are comfortable. Having the restaurant onsite for breakfast is a big plus and the food is good and inexpensive (even before the discount.) I've never eaten dinner there. As a previous reviewer stated, walking in the interior corridors can be confusing, but I have never had a problem with noise from other rooms. The staff are nice and helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ceftaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    88
    45
    32
    29
See reviews for
102
64
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Room was spacious and clean. It appears that they are working on remodeling and have the interior corridors complete. I agree completely with a previous review about the corridors. They were confusing and took us a while to get from our room to the lobby. We requested adjoining rooms as we had 2 of our granddaughters with us however this request was not honored and in fact the rooms were not even next to each other and the motel did not appear to be full by any means. The room appeared not to have been used for a while as the water was brown in the tub when I first turned it on, however was fine after that. It was quiet and a short drive to downtown which had some nice small shops and antique stores and restaurants. In the restaurant for dinner are food was average to below average. The lightly breaded walleye that my husband ordered was heavily breaded and the fish rubbery as was the grilled prawns. The pasta the girls ordered was good however. Breakfast was fine and the wait staff helpful. The pool was the high light and that is the only reason I am giving it a very good review. It was full size with an 8 ft deep end, which is hard to find in a motel/hotel these days. The girls really enjoyed being able to jump in the pool. Definitely not high end, but adequate for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Was taking a family trip with an active five year old, and 20-month old twins at Christmas.

The layout is basically three buildings with fully enclosed cloisters. It includes a good restaurant with a 25% guest discount, so once you're here, you don't need to go back out unless you want to. For what we paid, the restaurant was very good.

The staff, and especially the maintainance staff, was extremely helpful and friendly.

Our room was pretty spacious. We requested a portable crib and it was in the room ready to go when we got there. The bathroom was a pretty good size too, and overall the room was well laid-out and clean.

The cons? Not too many channels on the older TV, no mini-fridge, and there were some very big transitional bumps when trying to roll your luggage around. A few upgrades could make this an excellent property

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCentralPA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
On behalf of the staff, we would like to thank you so much for the kind words that you wrote in regards to your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn in Galesburg, Il. It is always nice to hear from our guests that we have done a good job.

We look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kathy Fowkes CHS
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

A nice place to stay for a few nights.There is a lounge and restaurant inside the hotel.Large menu to choose from and pretty cheap prices.And you get a 25% discount on dinner with room key.can't beat that.only thing I did not like was older tv's and no mini fridge or microwave.other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLAYTANIC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for the nice review that you gave us at the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn in Galesburg, Il. We are proud of our property and appreciate the compliments. We are working on getting new, flat screen tv's for all of our rooms.
We hope that next time you are in the Galesburg, Il area, you stay with us at the Best Western plus Prairie Inn.
Sincerely,
Kathy Fowkes CHS
G.S. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

As Chairman of the AECOI, we found the Best Western, Prairie Inn, Galesburg, Illinois to offer not only exceptional service with our AECOI Convention, December 7, 8, and 9th, 2011 held in Galesburg, Illinois, superb rooms, excellent food and quality attention.

We feel Galesburg is quite fortunate to have such a wonderful facility in our community and invite everyone to experience the Best Western, Prairie Inn, Galesburg, Illinois.

Sincerely,

Bill Butts
Chairman of the AECOI

Room Tip: Very nice choices in rooms, foods, etc., located right off of I-74.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Mr. Butts,
Thank you so very much for the kind words that you posted in regards to the staff and accomodations that you and your group had at the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn in Galesburg, Il. We love to hear that we are providing Exceptional Guest Services to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Kathy Fowkes CHS
G.S. Manager
Best Western Plus Prairie Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Today, when my husband was informed he had to have surgery for a blocked bile duct, I called to cancel. I was informed that I couldn't cancel boecasue I used the online reservation system and that basically, I should have seen that when I made the reservation. I travel for business every week and have other occasions where things happen and I have to cancel. NEVER has a hotel told me no...regardless of the policy. I was even going to change my reservation date because I will have to be back there to complete my work. But the rudeness I encountered is unacceptable. To charge me $140 becuase I have to attend to my husband's illness is poor customer service. I lwill not allow this hotel or the Best Western brand my business again if this is how they treat their customers. Oh, and did I mention that Russ, who answered my call, also told me he can make changes when he LIES and says the customer made a mistake when they reserved their room. Apparently, he wasn't in the lying mood today. Nice. Enjoy my money you stole from me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Laurin,

Let me first apologize for the perceived rudeness of my staff. I can assure you that the Guest Services Agent has been talked to in regards to this issue.

I would also like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. It is the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn policy of a 24 hour cancel.You must cancel your reservation at least 24 hours before your arrival. I have looked into your emergency circumstances and your credit card has been credited with the one nights stay that was charged to you. You should see that on your credit card statement by now.

I hope that you give us another try at the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn. We would like to show you what Complete Guest Satisfaction is all about.

Should you have any questions or comments for me, I can be contacted at (309) 343-7151 ext 662.

Sincerely,
Kathy Fowkes CHS
Guest Services Manager
Best Western Plus Prairie Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Very nice, very good staff, the best pillows, a bit pricey for the hotel, but it was a special weekend at Galesburg (Railroad Days or something). The bathroom was small, but I understand that they have completely remodeled, so they probably couldn't avoid it. Check-out and -in was super-quick. Super-quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCookWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Prairie Inn the next time you are in Galesburg, Illinois. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401-5527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing