We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Carvery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Celtic Carvery
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Navigation is a family run pub in the heart of Abercynon. We have a delicious homecooked menu, soft play area for children under 12, live music every last weekend of the month and a great range of beers and ales to quench your thirst. Walkers, cyclist and dogs are welcome.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Booked a table here for sunday lunch as a carvery sounded appealing for a quick bite to eat.There is a choice of meats which include Beef,Pork and Turkey and usual veg and potatoes boiled and roasted which were not anything special.The yorkshires were not homemade either and were quite chewy as was the meat though.In all not much attention to detail here and not a great deal is homemade which is a bit disapointing really.Don't think I will rush to book another time as it seems standards are not too high here and iam not to fussed on sticky tables and being given dirty utensils.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chief77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at Celtic Carvery, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are sorry to here you had a few issues at our family run carvery, we pride ourselves on putting four roasts on everyday, and although the yorkshires are not homemade there are plans in place to make our own, regards to sticky tables we always try to clear and then replenish,
Our beef & ale puff pastry pie is homemade, as is our cauliflower cheese, all our vegetables are fresh from Cheryls greengrocers in Abercynon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    5
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

first walk in and you get some funny looks but we went straight upstairs to dewi's fun factory witch is only 1 pound if your having food. its a small soft play area for kids of all ages. the food is a good price i had fish and chips the chips are foul their huge lumps of potato fried for about a minuet they where white n solid!!!! the fish was so tasty the best iv had..my partner had the cavery witch looked amazing!!! but you can only have one potato he said it was stunning except the carrots...desert was lush they young girl upstairs was abit over friendly a lovely little girl but kept showing us videos of her friends drinking. would go back but stay clear of the chips

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at Celtic Carvery, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello, Thanks for the compliments about the hand battered fish, shall speak to the chef about the chips though, we cook real chips which are not frozen. Roasties you can help yourself to as many as you like, so ask for the manager if you dont get more scrummy tatties.
Thanks please call again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“food very poor and terrible service .”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

had a carvery there the food is rubbish and the veg was frozen . looking throught the door of the kitchen it was a total mess and very dirty . wouldnt advise eating there

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at Celtic Carvery, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi
We are sorry to hear that your son was upset, we only serve carvery on a sunday between midday and 4 on a sunday as our kitchen does not have the capacity as we are extremely busy, however since reading your comments among other customers requests, we are now offering a selection of child friendly options on a sunday, thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had a family get together with about 17 of us. My son who is 10, wanted fish and chips which was advertised on the special menu boards, and on the table menu at the time we were there. But the staff refused point blank to help saying they don't serve that till after 4pm. For the entire meal my son sat there sobbing. Would not recommend taking children here. Other places we have been usually do this for children.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

really great carvery food for little cost,you can have as much as you want and you can go up as many times as you like.
would recommend to anyone if down in wales.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phillipsful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at Celtic Carvery, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Great stuff, glad to hear you would recommend us to others and you had great food.
Thanks or your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celtic Carvery also viewed

Abercynon, Vale of Glamorgan
Nelson, Caerphilly County
 
Abercynon, Vale of Glamorgan
Abercynon, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing