We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of country”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of country”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stoney Creek Inn has been my hotel of choice for my last two visits to Galena. The staff to me just put forth the effort to give you that special customer service that is lacking in a lot of industries. My initial booking was for one night, but after Sarah upgraded my standard king to a superior king I stayed an extra night. I loved this room. I could have stayed a week in this suite if the time and money was available. Everything in the hotel is so neat and clean. The dining room is small, but it's never been over crowded when I've been there. Good selection of breakfast items especially the waffles. I believe the batter has a malt blend which is very tasty, and you make your own. The décor is whimsical using outdoor scenes with animals. The pool and hot tub is always very clean (my favorite part). I took an excursion to the House on the Rock which was only about an hour away. Kathy checked me out, and again was very pleasant. Great place to stay if you're visiting Galena or need to take side trips. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: book early and use any discount that may apply...AARP, AAA
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M2Square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    214
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
184
400
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We loved how friendly and helpful the staff were at the hotel. They went above and beyond expectations. The decor is fun and the hotel is clean. If we had any complaint it was that the breakfast was just ok and the eating area a bit small but that doesn't take away from the exceptional service we received.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalona, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stoney creek is our motel of choice when we are in Galena. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and always clean. I would highly recommend this motel. Kathy at the front desk was very nice and a pleasant person to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hotel is clean and quaint with a woodsy theme (bears, fish, moose). Parking can be challenging (on weekend we stayed anyway). Staff is friendly and helpful, but we expected more since we are part of the Northwoods Travelers Rewards Program. We knew more about our program benefits than they did! The rooms are amazing - very unique and enjoyable. Breakfast was fine but crowded with weekend guests. Pool/whirlpool area is adorable with nature theme also!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We would highly recommend Stoney Creek for its quiet, clean, comfortable rooms, ample and tasty breakfasts, but most of all its friendly staff. When we opted to have a pre-dinner cocktail at the small bar, the front desk gal accommodated our orders and stayed to visit, giving us local information and friendly chat. Other times, our family group of 5 couples opted to take our own beverages out onto the adjacent patio -- and the front desk attendant happily let us borrow glasses from the bar.

As first-time visitors to Galena, my husband and I selected Stoney Creek through many positive TripAdvisor reviews. To our delight, cousins who live closer to Galena had stayed at Stoney Creek multiple times -- a happy coincidence.

We enjoyed the indoor pool and spa, convenient parking, and give this resort our vote of approval. We'll come again, when in the area. Thank you to all who assisted to make our stay a delightful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blowbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked a block of rooms here for our daughters wedding weekend. All the staff were so friendly and repeatedly asked if we needed anything. Dena (manager) was there on arrival and was so nice from the first email we sent to our checkout. Breakfast was fresh and hot. Typical fare for a hotel but good and plentiful. Decor is cabin cute and very homey. Pool area is decorated like a little forest, fun and clean. No complaints and would book here again if we return to the area.

Room Tip: no elevator so ask for first floor if you have issues or lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hands down the Stoney Creek Hotel is the place to stay. I have stayed at other places near and around Galena and this tops my list. The front desk staff (Kathy and Judy) have that "can do" attitude and are simply wonderful. The deluxe king room we stayed in was spacious and met all our needs, especially catching the downtown fireworks from our window. Breakfast had a good selection and the Loose Moose Saloon was a very nice place to relax after a long day of shopping. Follow this advice......stop reading any negative reviews and no need to Google other hotels. Make your reservation now and find out for yourself why Stoney Creek is #1 in Galena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amac0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing